MFA Creative Writing Programs
Master of Fine Arts degrees in creative writing, writing, fiction or poetry — campus-based, low-residency and fully online.
93 programs · page 1 of 5
Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking — editorial selections are published separately under Rankings. What we list
MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Washington, DC
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time, Part-time
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry
Duration: Most students complete the degree in 2 years
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $2,163 per credit · All students — Graduate students, per credit hour (on-campus and most online programs) · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: Culver City, CA
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Creative Nonfiction · Screenwriting · Playwriting · Literary Translation
Duration: Two years: five residencies and four five-month online project periods
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $11,017 per semester · All students — Semesters 1-3 · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: Tempe, AZ
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry
Duration: Three years
Funding: Competitive full funding$24,586 stipend (annual)
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: Bennington, VT
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry · Literary Translation
Duration: Two years: four terms (five for dual-genre) and five residencies (six for dual-genre)
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $12,700 per term · All students — Per term, including residency room and board · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: Boston, MA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time
Genres: Fiction · Poetry
Duration: One year to one and a half years (two academic semesters plus summer study)
Funding: Fully funded (conditions apply)
Tuition: $73,024 per academic year · All students — Graduate, full-time (12-18 credits) · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View programSelected in: Best MFA Creative Writing Programs
Bowling Green State University
Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Bowling Green, OH
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time
Genres: Fiction · Poetry
Duration: Two years
Funding: Fully funded (conditions apply)
Tuition: $6,881.88 (basis not stated by the school) · In-state — Graduate, main campus, Ohio resident, 12-18 credit hours (instructional and general fees) · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View programSelected in: Best MFA Creative Writing Programs
Location: Providence, RI
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Cross-Genre / Interdisciplinary
Duration: Two years
Funding: Funding not verified$39,149 stipend (nine months (2026-2027 academic year); first-year fellowship $39,149, second-year TA $40,994)
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: December 15, 2026 · Fall 2027
Location: Valencia, CA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Creative Nonfiction · Cross-Genre / Interdisciplinary
Duration: Two years
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: $62,954 per academic year · All students — Full-time undergraduate (BFA and certificate) and graduate (MFA, advanced certificate, and DMA) programs · 2026-2027
Deadline: December 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
Location: Orange, CA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Competitive full funding$18,000 stipend (per year (fellowship payment), renewable for a second year)
Tuition: $1,240 per credit · All students — MFA Creative Writing, per credit · 2026-2027
Deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
Colorado State University-Fort Collins
M.F.A. in Creative Writing
MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Three years
Funding: Competitive full funding
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: New York, NY
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry · Literary Translation
Duration: Two years of full-time coursework
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: January 6, 2027 · Fall 2027
MFA Program in Creative Writing
MFAMaster of Fine Arts (creative writing, concentration in poetry or fiction)
Location: Ithaca, NY
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction
Duration: Two years
Funding: Fully funded (conditions apply)
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: December 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
View programSelected in: Best MFA Creative Writing Programs
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Playwriting
Duration: Two years (four semesters)
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: New York, NY
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry
Duration: Two years (four semesters)
Funding: Tuition only
Tuition: $0 per semester · In-state — Fiction and poetry (after tuition waiver)
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: Boston, MA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time, Part-time
Genres: Creative Nonfiction · Fiction · Poetry
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $1,551 per credit · All students — Graduate, per credit · 2026-2027
Deadline: February 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
Popular Fiction Writing and Publishing MFA – Online
MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Popular Fiction Writing and Publishing
Location: Boston, MASchool location; study is online.
Format: Fully onlineAll coursework is completed online and the school does not require in-person attendance. · Full-time, Part-time
Genres: Fiction
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $1,551 per credit · All students — Graduate, per credit · 2026-2027
Deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
Location: Miami, FL
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Screenwriting
Duration: 2 years (full-time)
Funding: Partial funding$12,000 stipend (Fall/Spring semesters (approximately, as printed))
Tuition: $379.95 per credit · In-state — Graduate, resident tuition per credit hour (Fall 2026), excluding fees · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Competitive full funding$19,163 stipend (annual (as printed; summer teaching raises annual pay to $23,953))
Tuition: $479.32 per credit · In-state — Graduate, resident (Main Campus) · 2026-2027
Deadline: January 15, 2027 · Summer 2027
Location: Fairfax, VA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry
Duration: Typically completed in three years
Funding: Competitive full funding
Tuition: $700 per credit · In-state — Graduate courses in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, approximate
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: Roanoke, VA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Two years
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $23,600 (basis not stated by the school) · All students · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline