Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
Bennington College logo

Bennington College · Bennington Writing Seminars (MFA in Writing)

Bennington Writing Seminars / MFA in Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in WritingPartial fundingEditorial selection: Best Low-Residency MFA Creative Writing Programs

Overview

A two-year, 64-credit low-residency MFA (80 credits for the dual-genre option): four terms of one-on-one mentorship with four to five monthly packet exchanges per term, and five 10-day residencies on the Bennington campus in January and June. Students write a critical essay each term and finish with a creative thesis and a public reading.

Official program name
Bennington Writing Seminars / MFA in Writing
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Writing
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Bennington, VTWhere the program is administered. Most study happens remotely between residencies; residencies take place in Residencies are held on the Bennington campus each January and June..
Delivery / residency
Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified
Duration
Two years: four terms (five for dual-genre) and five residencies (six for dual-genre)
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
64 credits (80 for the dual-genre option); 16 credits per term
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Winter (January residency), Summer (June residency)
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

MFA in Writing in which students create new work in fiction, nonfiction or poetry and complete a creative thesis.

Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Residencies and remote study

Short, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Frequency
Two 10-day residencies a year (January and June) plus a final fifth residency.
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Residencies are held on the Bennington campus each January and June.
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Upcoming residencies: Winter 2027 term, January 7-17, 2027; Summer 2027 term, June 10-20, 2027.
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Attendance
Full participation is required; students must be in residence the entire 10 days.
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Travel
Students must arrive the day before and leave no earlier than after the final Saturday-morning workshop.
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Accommodation
Tuition includes residency room and board.
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Residency fee
Final residency fee of $1,500.
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Between residencies
Four to five packet exchanges per term, about one per month, with dates set by the teacher.
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Between residencies
Minimum time commitment of 25 hours a week, roughly 100 hours per packet.
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
International students receive a new I-20 for each session and need a visa for each of the five sessions.
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

FictionCreative NonfictionPoetryLiterary Translation

Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Concentrations and tracks

  • Dual-Genre Degree (three terms major genre, two terms minor genre)
    Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
  • Literary Translation (secondary concentration in the dual-genre degree)
    Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Workshops

  • Residency workshops typically have two faculty and 10 students; attendance at each workshop is required for graduation.
    Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Literature courses

  • 20-30 books read per term with analytical responses; critical essays of 10 and 15 pages.
    Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

  • Creative thesis submitted to the final-term teacher and a second reader, plus a 20-minute reading at the fifth residency.
    Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Teaching opportunities

  • Residential Teaching Fellowship: one enrolled student per term assists a literature faculty member in an undergraduate classroom.
    Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • 'Pemi Aguda — fiction
  • Eula Biss — creative_nonfiction
  • Jenny Boully
  • Peter Cameron — fiction
  • Jennifer Chang — poetry
  • Garrard Conley — creative_nonfiction
  • Stacey D'Erasmo — fiction
  • Samantha Hunt — fiction
  • Paul Lisicky — creative_nonfiction
  • Dawn Lundy Martin — poetry
  • Hugh Ryan — creative_nonfiction
  • Bianca Stone — poetry

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
Not requiredNo associate or bachelor's degree required (encouraged)
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Personal statement
RequiredTwo- or three-page essay on the applicant's reading life; translation applicants add a 2-3 page essay
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three recommendations
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
CV / résumé
OptionalResume/work history optional
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
Required$75 — $75, or $100 for dual-genre; non-refundable, cannot be waived
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcript from each college attended (if any)
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Fictionup to 20 pagesUp to 20 pages of fictionFormatting: double-spaced, readable font such as 12 point Times New RomanSource: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Creative Nonfictionup to 20 pagesUp to 20 pages of nonfictionFormatting: double-spaced, readable font such as 12 point Times New RomanSource: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Poetryup to 10 pages10 single-spaced pages of poetry, each poem on a new pageFormatting: single-spaced, each new poem on a new pageSource: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    March 1, midnight Eastern Time · for Summer 2027 term (June 10-20, 2027 residency) · America/New_York

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Funding / priority deadline

    April 1 (financial aid application) · for Summer term

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    September 1, midnight Eastern Time (admission and financial aid) · for Winter term (January residency) · America/New_York

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Per term, including residency room and boardPublished for low-residency study$12,700per term · 2026-2027Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
All students — Academic year (Summer 2026 and Winter 2027 terms)Published for low-residency study$25,400per academic year · 2026-2027Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other published fees

Final residency fee
$1,500 per residencyMandatory
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Enrollment deposit (applied toward first-term tuition)
$500Mandatory
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee (single genre; dual genre $100)
$75Mandatory
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial fundingPolicy year: 2026-2027

Tuition coverage
Residential Teaching Fellowship: full tuition remission for one term plus housing and board.
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
All applicants are considered for merit scholarships; awards come with the acceptance letter and are applied across the student's terms.
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Not everyone receives scholarship support.
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Living costs during non-residency periods are not covered by loans or other aid.
Source: bennington.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Named scholarships, fellowships and assistantships

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. bennington.edu/academics/graduate-programs/mfa-writing — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  2. bennington.edu/mfa-writing/apply/application-info-and-deadlines — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. bennington.edu/mfa-writing/apply/mfa-scholarships-financial-aid — Official funding / aid page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. bennington.edu/mfa-writing/apply/mfa-writing-tuition-and-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 9, 2026
  5. bennington.edu/mfa-writing/apply/program-requirements-term-term — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  6. bennington.edu/mfa-writing/apply/prospective-student-faq — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  7. bennington.edu/mfa-writing/faculty — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Location: Santa Fe, NM
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Screenwriting
Duration: Four semesters
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: $6,000 per semester · International — International, per semester · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
New York University logo

New York University

Low Residency MFA Writers Workshop in Paris

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: New York, NY
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Forest Grove, OR
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Two years: at least four semesters of study and five residencies
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $23,528 per academic year · All students · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with Bennington College. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.