Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
Columbia University in the City of New York logo

Columbia University in the City of New York · School of the Arts, Writing Program

MFA in Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in WritingPartial funding

Overview

A 60-point, two-year full-time MFA built around three 6-point workshops and a 9-point thesis workshop, plus at least 21 points of Writing Program lectures, seminars and master classes. Applicants choose a concentration in fiction, nonfiction or poetry; literary translation is available as a joint course of study.

Official program name
MFA in Writing
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Writing
Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: bulletin.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
New York, NY
Delivery / residency
Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Duration
Two years of full-time coursework
Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
60 points
Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Fall
Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

The School of the Arts MFA in Writing is a dedicated creative writing MFA with concentrations in fiction, nonfiction and poetry.

Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

FictionCreative NonfictionPoetryLiterary Translation

Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Concentrations and tracks

Workshops

Craft courses

  • At least 21 points of Graduate Writing Program lectures, seminars and/or master classes.
    Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

  • Poetry thesis of at least 35 pages; prose thesis of 22,500 to 50,000 words.
    Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Internships

  • Internships for credit with magazines, publishers and New York City literary organizations; up to 3 credits count toward the degree.
    Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Teaching opportunities

  • Second-year students are eligible to serve as teaching assistants in the Undergraduate Creative Writing Program.
    Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Literary journal opportunities

Faculty listed by the program

  • Chloé Cooper Jones — Concentration Head, Nonfiction; Associate Professor, creative_nonfiction

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Personal statement
RequiredNo more than two double-spaced pages.
Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation.
Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
Required$110 — $110 online application fee.
Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Critical / academic writing sample
Required1,000-word essay responding to a work of literature published within the last ten years, in the applicant's concentration.
Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Fictionup to 25 pagesNo more than 25 double-spaced pages: one or several stories, a portion of a novel, or a combination.Formatting: double-spaced, 12-point fontSource: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Creative Nonfictionup to 30 pagesNo more than thirty double-spaced pages of nonfiction of literary quality.Formatting: double-spaced, 12-point fontSource: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Poetryup to 10 pagesNo more than ten single-spaced pages of poetry, one poem per page at most.Formatting: single-spaced, 12-point fontSource: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    January 6, 2027 · for Fall 2027 · ET

    Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Funding / priority deadline

    February 1 (School of the Arts Financial Aid Application, for need-based consideration) · for Fall 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.

Tuition: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial fundingPolicy year: 2026-2027

Funding guarantee
Fellowship support is not guaranteed and would likely apply only to the first and/or second year.
Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Tuition coverage
Fellowships and scholarships for incoming MFA students based on merit, documented need and/or service.
Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Assistantship duties
Paid service positions, including teaching, are competitive; students usually apply at the end of the first year for the second year.
Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Renewal conditions
First-year students who meet the requirements receive an equivalent level of support in their second year.
Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
International students
International students are eligible for School-based scholarships and fellowships.
Source: arts.columbia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Named scholarships, fellowships and assistantships

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. arts.columbia.edu/tuition — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 9, 2026
  2. arts.columbia.edu/writing — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. arts.columbia.edu/writing/application-requirements — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. arts.columbia.edu/writing/graduate — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  5. bulletin.columbia.edu/columbia-college/departments-instruction/creative-writing/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

CUNY Brooklyn College

Creative Writing, M.F.A.

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Playwriting
Duration: Two years (four semesters)
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
CUNY Hunter College logo

CUNY Hunter College

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts (MFA) in Creative Writing
Location: New York, NY
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry
Duration: Two years (four semesters)
Funding: Tuition only
Tuition: $0 per semester · In-state — Fiction and poetry (after tuition waiver)
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with Columbia University in the City of New York. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.