Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms

CUNY Brooklyn College · Department of English, MFA in Creative Writing

Creative Writing, M.F.A.

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative WritingPartial funding

Overview

A two-year, 36-credit MFA: 24 credits in the chosen specialization (fiction, poetry or playwriting) and 12 credits of literature, ending in a book-length or producible manuscript. Fiction admits about 15 students a year, poetry about 10 and playwriting about five.

Official program name
Creative Writing, M.F.A.
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Delivery / residency
Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified
Duration
Two years (four semesters)
Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
36 credits (24 in the specialization, 12 in literature)
Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Fall
Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

One MFA degree in creative writing with specializations in fiction, poetry and playwriting; the playwriting specialization sits inside the creative writing MFA rather than being a standalone degree.

Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

FictionPoetryPlaywriting

Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Workshops

  • Single-discipline and inter-genre workshops, literature seminars, small-group reading tutorials and one-on-one tutorials.
    Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026
  • Poetry workshops are limited to 10 students.
    Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

  • A substantial manuscript in publishable form (fiction, poetry) or producible form (playwriting).
    Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other

  • Winter writing residency at the Espy Foundation in Oysterville, Washington.
    Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026
  • Approximately 500 applications for 15 fiction places, 120 for 10 poetry places and 70 for five playwriting places in recent years.
    Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Teaching opportunities

  • Students may teach undergraduate courses for the English Department.
    Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

Faculty list: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree with a minimum GPA of 3.00.
Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum undergraduate GPA of 3.00.
Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredTranscripts from all colleges and universities attended; course-by-course evaluation for degrees earned outside the US.
Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Fiction—About 30 pages of original fiction.Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Poetry—About 20 pages of original poetry.Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Playwriting—One original full-length play or two or more original one-act plays.Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 79For F-1 or J-1 international students; the program description also states a TOEFL iBT score of 114 for applicants for whom English is a second language.
Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 6.5For F-1 or J-1 international students.
Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026
PTE Academic
Required — minimum 58Printed as 58–63, for F-1 or J-1 international students.
Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Duolingo English Test
Required — minimum 105Printed as 105–160, for F-1 or J-1 international students.
Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    January 15 · for Fall 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.

Tuition: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial fundingPolicy year: 2026-2027

Assistantship duties
Students may teach undergraduate English courses.
Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Some fellowships and prizes are available.
Source: brooklyn.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. brooklyn.edu/academics/programs/creative-writing-mfa/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Location: New York, NY
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry · Literary Translation
Duration: Two years of full-time coursework
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: January 6, 2027 · Fall 2027
View program
CUNY Hunter College logo

CUNY Hunter College

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts (MFA) in Creative Writing
Location: New York, NY
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry
Duration: Two years (four semesters)
Funding: Tuition only
Tuition: $0 per semester · In-state — Fiction and poetry (after tuition waiver)
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with CUNY Brooklyn College. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.