Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms

Campus-Based MFA Creative Writing Programs

Classes and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. Study intensity (full- or part-time) is shown separately on each program.

74 programs · page 1 of 4

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking — editorial selections are published separately under Rankings. What we list

American University logo

American University

Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Washington, DC
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time, Part-time
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry
Duration: Most students complete the degree in 2 years
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $2,163 per credit · All students — Graduate students, per credit hour (on-campus and most online programs) · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Tempe, AZ
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry
Duration: Three years
Funding: Competitive full funding$24,586 stipend (annual)
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Boston University logo

Boston University

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Boston, MA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time
Genres: Fiction · Poetry
Duration: One year to one and a half years (two academic semesters plus summer study)
Funding: Fully funded (conditions apply)
Tuition: $73,024 per academic year · All students — Graduate, full-time (12-18 credits) · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: Bowling Green, OH
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time
Genres: Fiction · Poetry
Duration: Two years
Funding: Fully funded (conditions apply)
Tuition: $6,881.88 (basis not stated by the school) · In-state — Graduate, main campus, Ohio resident, 12-18 credit hours (instructional and general fees) · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Brown University logo

Brown University

Literary Arts MFA

MFAMaster of Fine Arts (Literary Arts)
Location: Providence, RI
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Cross-Genre / Interdisciplinary
Duration: Two years
Funding: Funding not verified$39,149 stipend (nine months (2026-2027 academic year); first-year fellowship $39,149, second-year TA $40,994)
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: December 15, 2026 · Fall 2027
View program
California Institute of the Arts logo

California Institute of the Arts

MFA Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Valencia, CA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Creative Nonfiction · Cross-Genre / Interdisciplinary
Duration: Two years
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: $62,954 per academic year · All students — Full-time undergraduate (BFA and certificate) and graduate (MFA, advanced certificate, and DMA) programs · 2026-2027
Deadline: December 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
View program
Chapman University logo

Chapman University

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Orange, CA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Competitive full funding$18,000 stipend (per year (fellowship payment), renewable for a second year)
Tuition: $1,240 per credit · All students — MFA Creative Writing, per credit · 2026-2027
Deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Three years
Funding: Competitive full funding
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: New York, NY
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry · Literary Translation
Duration: Two years of full-time coursework
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: January 6, 2027 · Fall 2027
View program

CUNY Brooklyn College

Creative Writing, M.F.A.

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Playwriting
Duration: Two years (four semesters)
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
CUNY Hunter College logo

CUNY Hunter College

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts (MFA) in Creative Writing
Location: New York, NY
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry
Duration: Two years (four semesters)
Funding: Tuition only
Tuition: $0 per semester · In-state — Fiction and poetry (after tuition waiver)
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Emerson College logo

Emerson College

Creative Writing MFA

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Boston, MA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time, Part-time
Genres: Creative Nonfiction · Fiction · Poetry
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $1,551 per credit · All students — Graduate, per credit · 2026-2027
Deadline: February 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View program
Florida International University logo

Florida International University

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Miami, FL
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Screenwriting
Duration: 2 years (full-time)
Funding: Partial funding$12,000 stipend (Fall/Spring semesters (approximately, as printed))
Tuition: $379.95 per credit · In-state — Graduate, resident tuition per credit hour (Fall 2026), excluding fees · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Florida State University logo

Florida State University

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Competitive full funding$19,163 stipend (annual (as printed; summer teaching raises annual pay to $23,953))
Tuition: $479.32 per credit · In-state — Graduate, resident (Main Campus) · 2026-2027
Deadline: January 15, 2027 · Summer 2027
View program
George Mason University logo

George Mason University

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Fairfax, VA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry
Duration: Typically completed in three years
Funding: Competitive full funding
Tuition: $700 per credit · In-state — Graduate courses in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, approximate
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Hollins University

Creative Writing M.F.A.

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Roanoke, VA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Two years
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $23,600 (basis not stated by the school) · All students · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Bloomington, IN
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry
Duration: Three years
Funding: Fully funded (conditions apply)$19,000 stipend (not stated ("at least $19,000"))
Tuition: $11,280 per academic year · In-state — Graduate, Indiana residents (estimated tuition and mandatory fees, full-time, 11 credits per semester) · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Iowa State University logo

Iowa State University

MFA Program in Creative Writing and Environment

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing and Environment
Location: Ames, IA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Playwriting · Screenwriting
Duration: Three years
Funding: Competitive full funding$20,872 stipend (10 months (Aug 16 through May 15))
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program