Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
George Mason University logo

George Mason University · Department of English, Creative Writing Program

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative WritingCompetitive full funding

Overview

A 48-credit residential MFA typically completed in three years, with concentrations in fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. The curriculum combines workshops, forms courses, craft seminars, literature courses, electives, and a 6-credit thesis; poetry students also pass a written MFA exam.

Official program name
MFA in Creative Writing
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Source: catalog.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: catalog.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Fairfax, VA
Delivery / residency
Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified
Duration
Typically completed in three years
Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
Total credits: 48
Source: catalog.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Fall
Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

The university catalog lists the degree as Creative Writing, MFA, with tracks in fiction, nonfiction, and poetry.

Source: catalog.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

FictionCreative NonfictionPoetry

Source: catalog.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Concentrations and tracks

Workshops

  • Each concentration includes 9 credits of genre writing workshops (e.g., ENGH 618 Fiction Writing Workshop).
    Source: catalog.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Craft courses

Literature courses

Thesis / dissertation

Other

  • Poetry students must pass a written MFA exam based on authors chosen with the writing faculty.
    Source: catalog.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Teaching opportunities

  • Graduate Teaching Assistants teach ENGH 101 and 201 and may teach Intro to Creative Writing in the third year depending on demand.
    Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Tania James — fiction
  • Helon Habila — fiction
  • Alexia Arthurs — fiction
  • Courtney Brkic — fiction
  • Peter Streckfus — poetry
  • Sally Keith — poetry
  • Vivek Narayanan — poetry
  • Kyoko Mori — creative_nonfiction
  • Tim Denevi — creative_nonfiction

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Statement of purpose
RequiredGoals statement of 750-1000 words addressing professional and academic plans
Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Program requirements chart lists 2 recommendation letters
Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
Required$75 — Non-refundable $75 application processing fee
Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts uploaded with the application
Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Critical / academic writing sample
Optional1000-word nonfiction writing sample, preferably literary analysis; optional, but required for teaching assistantship consideration
Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
International applicants
RequiredAll applicants must demonstrate English proficiency regardless of citizenship
Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Fictionup to 50 pagesAt least two complete short stories, or novel/novella excerpts, no more than 50 pagesFormatting: single-sided and double-spacedSource: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Creative Nonfictionup to 50 pagesAt least two complete essays or the equivalent totaling no more than 50 pagesFormatting: single-sided and double-spacedSource: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Poetryup to 10 pagesUp to 10 pages of poems and a table of contentsFormatting: single-sided, no more than one poem per pageSource: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Supporting documents

    April 15, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Funding / priority deadline

    Priority deadline: January 15 · for Fall 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Funding / priority deadline

    Funding deadline: February 15 · for Fall 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    Final deadline: April 1 · for Fall 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — Graduate courses in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, approximate$700per creditCalculated$33,600 total = 48 credits × $700 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, residency or travel costs, and any rate change during the program.Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Out-of-state — Graduate courses in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, approximate$1,500per creditCalculated$72,000 total = 48 credits × $1,500 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, residency or travel costs, and any rate change during the program.Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other published fees

Educational Resource Fee (per semester, $60-$100)
$60 per semesterMandatory
Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Full funding (tuition and stipend) is available to selected students only. Admission does not guarantee it. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Competitive full funding

Funding guarantee
Not every MFA student is funded; funded students receive a stipend, tuition waiver, and optional subsidized healthcare each year in good standing.
Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Tuition coverage
The tuition waiver covers up to 48 credit hours and is managed to provide completion in three academic years; it is subject to college allocation of waiver funds.
Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Mandatory fees
Certain fees are not covered by the tuition waiver.
Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Health insurance
GTAs and GPAs are eligible for optional subsidized health insurance.
Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Expected workload
GTAs and GPAs work 20 hours per week and receive a stipend, full tuition waiver (up to 18 credits per academic year), and optional health care coverage.
Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Separate application
Applications received by the January 15 priority deadline receive the highest consideration for funding.
Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
About 65% of the program's students receive funding on average.
Source: creativewriting.gmu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Named scholarships, fellowships and assistantships

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. catalog.gmu.edu/colleges-schools/humanities-social-sciences/english/creative-writing-mfa/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 9, 2026
  2. creativewriting.gmu.edu/graduate-program — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. creativewriting.gmu.edu/graduate-program/faqs — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. creativewriting.gmu.edu/graduate-program/mfa-handbook/graduate-assistantships — Official funding / aid page, verified October 9, 2026
  5. creativewriting.gmu.edu/graduate-program/mfa-handbook/third-year-fellowships-and-other-support — Official funding / aid page, verified October 9, 2026
  6. creativewriting.gmu.edu/programs/la-mfa-cw/application — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Hollins University

Creative Writing M.F.A.

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Roanoke, VA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Two years
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $23,600 (basis not stated by the school) · All students · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Virginia logo

University of Virginia

MFA in Creative Writing Program

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time
Genres: Poetry · Fiction
Duration: Three years, with an option to graduate in two years on an accelerated schedule
Funding: Fully funded (conditions apply)$29,660 stipend (per academic year including summer in years one and two ($37,080); $29,660 in year three (no summer support))
Tuition: $22,770 per academic year · In-state — GSAS master's programs, Virginia resident, full time (12 credits per term) · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Virginia Commonwealth University logo

Virginia Commonwealth University

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Richmond, VA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time, Part-time
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Three years
Funding: Competitive full funding$19,000 stipend (a year (9-12 month annual stipend))
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with George Mason University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.