Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
Florida International University logo

Florida International University · Department of English

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative WritingPartial funding

Overview

A 48-credit, two-year MFA in Creative Writing housed at the Biscayne Bay Campus, with workshops, literature courses, form and theory classes, and a book-length creative thesis. Fall admission only; a limited number of tuition waivers, fellowships and teaching assistantships are available.

Official program name
MFA in Creative Writing
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Source: catalog.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: catalog.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Miami, FL
Delivery / residency
Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Source: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified
Duration
2 years (full-time)
Source: catalog.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
48 total credits
Source: catalog.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Fall
Source: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

Catalog lists the diploma title as Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing.

Source: catalog.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

PoetryFictionCreative NonfictionScreenwriting

Source: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Workshops

  • Coursework includes workshops, literature offerings, and form and theory classes on Plot, Character, and Poetics.
    Source: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

Literary journal opportunities

  • The Creative Writing program produces Gulf Stream Magazine.
    Source: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Lynne Barrett — Professor
  • Richard Blanco — Associate Professor
  • Cynthia C. Chinelly — Teaching Professor
  • Debra Dean — Professor
  • John Dufresne — Professor
  • Denise Duhamel — Distinguished University Professor
  • Campbell McGrath — Distinguished University Professor; Philip and Patricia Frost Professor of Creative Writing
  • Lester Standiford — Professor; Director and Founder of the Creative Writing Program
  • Julie Marie Wade — Professor

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
Required3.0 undergraduate GPA
Source: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Statement of purpose
RequiredApplicant statement / letter of intent on writing interest and background, including any request for a teaching assistantship
Source: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredNine semester hours of undergraduate creative writing coursework
Source: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Poetryup to 20 pagesPoetry, up to 20 pagesSource: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Fictionup to 25 pagesFiction/nonfiction, up to 25 pagesSource: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Creative Nonfictionup to 25 pagesFiction/nonfiction, up to 25 pagesSource: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Screenwritingup to 30 pagesScreenplay: first 30 pages plus a synopsisSource: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalNot required; scores may be submitted and will be considered.
Source: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    January 10, 5 p.m. EST · for Fall · America/New_York

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — Graduate, resident tuition per credit hour (Fall 2026), excluding feesFrom the school's rate table for this level$379.95per credit · 2026-2027Calculated$18,237.60 total = 48 credits × $379.95 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, residency or travel costs, and any rate change during the program.Source: regulations.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial funding

Published stipend: $12,000 (Fall/Spring semesters (approximately, as printed))

Stipend
A limited number of tuition fee waivers, fellowships and teaching assistantships with a Fall/Spring stipend of approximately $12,000.
Source: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Assistantship duties
Positions require various instructional and research activities.
Source: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Separate application
Applicants request nomination for financial assistance in the letter of intent; FAFSA required for tuition remission.
Source: case.fiu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not judge whether a stipend is sufficient: living costs differ by city, household and year.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. case.fiu.edu/english/students/graduate/mfa-creative-writing/admissions/index.html — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  2. case.fiu.edu/english/students/graduate/mfa-creative-writing/faculty/index.html — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. case.fiu.edu/english/students/graduate/mfa-creative-writing/index.html — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. catalog.fiu.edu/programs/CRWRTG:MFA/overview-aoYks — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 9, 2026
  5. regulations.fiu.edu/wp-content/uploads/2026/04/FIU-1101-Tuition-Fees-Schedule-Regulation-4.29.26.pdf — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Florida State University logo

Florida State University

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Competitive full funding$19,163 stipend (annual (as printed; summer teaching raises annual pay to $23,953))
Tuition: $479.32 per credit · In-state — Graduate, resident (Main Campus) · 2026-2027
Deadline: January 15, 2027 · Summer 2027
View program

University of Central Florida

Creative Writing MFA

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Orlando, FL
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Creative Nonfiction · Cross-Genre / Interdisciplinary
Duration: 2 years
Funding: Competitive full funding$10,000 stipend (nine-month academic year)
Tuition: $369.65 per credit · In-state — Graduate, Florida resident, tuition and fees per credit hour · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Florida logo

University of Florida

MFA@FLA: Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Gainesville, FL
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry
Duration: Three years
Funding: Fully funded (all admitted)
Tuition: $12,780 per academic year · In-state — In-state graduate, tuition and fees (projected estimate for new graduate students) · 2026-2027
Deadline: December 15, 2026 · Fall 2027

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with Florida International University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.