Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms

Hollins University · Department of English & Creative Writing; Jackson Center for Creative Writing

Creative Writing M.F.A.

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative WritingPartial funding

Overview

A two-year, 49-credit residential MFA for about twenty students working in poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction rather than single-genre tracks. Requirements include four semesters of graduate creative writing tutorial, two semesters of advanced creative writing seminar, two core advanced studies courses, and a book-length thesis.

Official program name
Creative Writing M.F.A.
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Roanoke, VA
Delivery / residency
Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified
Duration
Two years
Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
Forty-nine credits in residence
Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Fall
Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

The university lists a dedicated Creative Writing M.F.A. administered by the Jackson Center for Creative Writing.

Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

PoetryFictionCreative Nonfiction

Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Workshops

  • Four semesters of Graduate Creative Writing Tutorial and two semesters of Advanced Creative Writing Seminar are required.
    Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

  • A book-length, original creative manuscript completed by the end of year two with a faculty thesis advisor.
    Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other

  • Each spring a Louis D. Rubin Jr. Writer-in-Residence works with graduate and selected undergraduate students.
    Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026
  • No transfer credit is accepted for the MFA.
    Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Jessie van Eerden — Associate Professor; Director, Jackson Center for Creative Writing
  • Pauline Kaldas — Professor
  • Thorpe Moeckel — Associate Professor
  • Joe Milan — Assistant Professor
  • Meighan Sharp — Assistant Professor
  • Zeus Sumra — Assistant Professor
  • Catherine Guild — Distinguished Professor

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredA bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university
Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation on the recommender's letterhead
Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026
CV / résumé
RequiredA current CV
Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUndergraduate transcripts
Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Any / all genres—Creative writing manuscript (writing sample)Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalNot required; scores may be submitted to support the application.
Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    January 6 · for Fall 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$23,600(basis not stated by the school) · 2026-2027Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other published fees

Technology fee
$700 per academic yearMandatory
Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Health services
$410 per academic yearMandatory
Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026
New student nonrefundable deposit, applied toward fees
$300 entire programMandatory
Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial funding

Funding guarantee
All students receive funding from endowed graduate scholarships plus support for travel and research; competitive graduate assistantships are also available.
Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Separate application
Applicants indicate on the application that they want to be considered for stipend and scholarship.
Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Teaching assistantships are awarded to four second-year students.
Source: hollins.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. hollins.edu/academics/graduate-studies/graduate-programs-how-to-apply/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  2. hollins.edu/programs/creative-writing-m-f-a/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. hollins.edu/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/Creative-Writing-Catalog-2026-27.pdf — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 9, 2026
  4. hollins.edu/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/English-and-Creative-Writing-BA-Catalog-2026-27.pdf — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

George Mason University logo

George Mason University

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Fairfax, VA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry
Duration: Typically completed in three years
Funding: Competitive full funding
Tuition: $700 per credit · In-state — Graduate courses in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, approximate
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Virginia logo

University of Virginia

MFA in Creative Writing Program

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time
Genres: Poetry · Fiction
Duration: Three years, with an option to graduate in two years on an accelerated schedule
Funding: Fully funded (conditions apply)$29,660 stipend (per academic year including summer in years one and two ($37,080); $29,660 in year three (no summer support))
Tuition: $22,770 per academic year · In-state — GSAS master's programs, Virginia resident, full time (12 credits per term) · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Virginia Commonwealth University logo

Virginia Commonwealth University

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Richmond, VA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time, Part-time
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Three years
Funding: Competitive full funding$19,000 stipend (a year (9-12 month annual stipend))
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with Hollins University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.