Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
American University logo

American University · Department of Literature

Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative WritingPartial funding

Overview

A two-year, 36-credit MFA with graduate workshops in fiction, nonfiction, and poetry, plus courses in literary journalism and translation. Students may study full-time or part-time, and the degree ends with a book-length thesis manuscript.

Official program name
Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Washington, DC
Delivery / residency
Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Duration
Most students complete the degree in 2 years
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
36 credit hours
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this degree is listed

The program page names the degree as a Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing.

Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

FictionCreative NonfictionPoetry

Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Workshops

  • LIT-700 Advanced Fiction Workshop, a graduate workshop in which students produce and critique original fiction.
    Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Craft courses

Thesis / dissertation

Teaching opportunities

  • LIT-730 Teaching Composition, typically offered each fall and recommended for the second year.
    Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Internships

Other

Faculty listed by the program

  • Rhonda Zimlich — MFA Director, Professorial Lecturer
  • Andrew Bertaina — Professorial Lecturer
  • Kyle Dargan — Associate Professor
  • David Keplinger — Professor
  • Patricia Park — Associate Professor
  • Dolen Perkins-Valdez — Associate Professor
  • Rachel Louise Snyder — Professor

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Poetryup to 15 pagesNo more than 12 poems or 15 pagesFormatting: no more than one new or continuing poem per pageSource: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Fiction15–25 pagesFiction or nonfiction: 15-25 pagesSource: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Creative Nonfiction15–25 pagesFiction or nonfiction: 15-25 pagesSource: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Funding / priority deadline

    February 1 (merit award consideration; later applications still considered)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate students, per credit hour (on-campus and most online programs)From the school's rate table for this level$2,163per credit · 2026-2027Calculated$77,868 total = 36 credits × $2,163 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, residency or travel costs, and any rate change during the program.Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial funding

Tuition coverage
Merit awards may be partial tuition scholarships or partial tuition with a graduate assistantship stipend.
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Separate application
All applicants are automatically considered for a merit award; no separate application.
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Named scholarships, fellowships and assistantships

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. www-cdn.american.edu/cas/admissions/finance.cfm — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  2. www-cdn.american.edu/cas/literature/mfa/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. www-cdn.american.edu/cas/literature/mfa/courses.cfm — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 9, 2026
  4. www-cdn.american.edu/cas/literature/mfa/faculty.cfm — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  5. www-cdn.american.edu/finance/studentaccounts/tuition-and-fees-information.cfm — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with American University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.