Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
Antioch University-Los Angeles logo

Antioch University-Los Angeles · MFA in Creative Writing, Antioch University Los Angeles

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative WritingPartial fundingEditorial selection: Best Low-Residency MFA Creative Writing Programs

Overview

A two-year low-residency MFA of five ten-day hybrid residencies (June and December, on the Los Angeles campus or online) and four five-month online project periods with a mentor of the student's choice. Students are admitted in fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, writing for young people, writing for the screen, playwriting or literary translation, and complete a field study, critical paper and final manuscript.

Official program name
MFA in Creative Writing
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Culver City, CAWhere the program is administered. Most study happens remotely between residencies; residencies take place in Students may attend in person on the Los Angeles campus, online, or a combination of both..
Delivery / residency
Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified
Duration
Two years: five residencies and four five-month online project periods
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Summer/Fall (June residency), Winter/Spring (December residency)
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing.

Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Residencies and remote study

Short, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Frequency
Two hybrid residencies per year, in June and December.
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Length of each residency
Five 10-day hybrid residencies over the degree.
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Students may attend in person on the Los Angeles campus, online, or a combination of both.
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Each residency includes a genre workshop and at least seven additional learning activities.
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Upcoming first residencies: June 1-10, 2026 and December 10-19, 2026.
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Residency fee
The 4th semester tuition includes two residencies.
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Between residencies
Each semester begins with a 10-day residency followed by a five-month online project period under a faculty mentor.
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Between residencies
Monthly packets of creative work and book annotations; monthly Book Circles on Zoom.
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Between residencies
Optional online electives during the project period at no extra charge.
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

FictionPoetryCreative NonfictionScreenwritingPlaywritingLiterary Translation

Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Concentrations and tracks

  • Writing for Young People
    Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
  • Dual concentration (extra semester; three terms in the primary genre, two in another)
    Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Workshops

  • Residency writing workshops: 9.5 hours of peer and faculty review of student work.
    Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Community and outreach

  • Field Study serving the MFA community or the student's local community; in-house options include Lunch Ticket and the Lit Cit podcast.
    Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

  • Critical paper, final manuscript, cumulative annotated bibliography and graduating student presentation and reading.
    Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other

  • Art of Translation course required (no second language required).
    Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
  • Students work with 4 to 5 different faculty mentors of their choice.
    Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Cathy Linh Che — Acting Co-Chair / Core Faculty, poetry
  • Alistair McCartney — Acting Co-Chair / Teaching Faculty
  • Edgar Gomez — creative_nonfiction
  • Brad Kessler — creative_nonfiction
  • Tomas Moniz — fiction
  • Terry Wolverton — fiction
  • Safia Elhillo — poetry
  • Xochitl-Julisa Bermejo — poetry
  • Ross Brown
  • Benjamin Benne — playwriting
  • John Cariani — playwriting
  • Mike Fu — literary_translation

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university (official transcript)
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Statement of purpose
RequiredAdmissions Dialogue Essay
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Names and contact information of two references; letters optional
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
Required$50 — $50 non-refundable application fee
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredApplicants must be able to work independently in distance learning, with a computer, Microsoft Word and Internet access.
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Poetryup to 10 pagesPoetry: 10-page maximumFormatting: single-spaced, one poem per pageSource: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Fictionup to 20 pagesFiction: 20-page maximumFormatting: typed, double-spaced, name at top of each pageSource: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Creative Nonfictionup to 20 pagesCreative Nonfiction: 20-page maximumFormatting: typed, double-spaced, name at top of each pageSource: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Screenwritingup to 20 pagesWriting for the Screen: 20-page maximumFormatting: standard screenplay format (FinalDraft encouraged)Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Playwritingup to 20 pagesPlaywriting: 20-page maximumFormatting: standard play formatSource: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Winter/Spring term (first residency December 10-19, 2026)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Semesters 1-3Published for low-residency study$11,017per semester · 2026-2027Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
All students — 4th semester (includes two residencies)Published for low-residency study$16,406per semester · 2026-2027Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
All students — Total program tuitionPublished for low-residency study$49,457entire program · 2026-2027Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other published fees

MFA Materials fee (semester programs fee table)
$155
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
$50Mandatory
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial funding

Separate application
Applicants indicate on the application form whether they want scholarship consideration.
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Scholarships based on merit and academic promise; amount comes with the acceptance letter.
Source: antioch.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Named scholarships, fellowships and assistantships

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. antioch.edu/academics/creative-writing/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  2. antioch.edu/academics/creative-writing/creative-writing-mfa/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. antioch.edu/academics/creative-writing/creative-writing-mfa/residency/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. antioch.edu/admission-aid/financial-aid/tuition-fees/tuition-and-fees-aula/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Location: Bennington, VT
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry · Literary Translation
Duration: Two years: four terms (five for dual-genre) and five residencies (six for dual-genre)
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $12,700 per term · All students — Per term, including residency room and board · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Screenwriting
Duration: Four semesters
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: $6,000 per semester · International — International, per semester · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
New York University logo

New York University

Low Residency MFA Writers Workshop in Paris

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: New York, NY
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with Antioch University-Los Angeles. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.