Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
Emerson College logo

Emerson College · Department of Writing, Literature and Publishing

Popular Fiction Writing and Publishing MFA – Online

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Popular Fiction Writing and PublishingPartial funding

Overview

A fully online, asynchronous MFA focused on genre fiction such as fantasy, horror, romance, and mystery/crime, combining writing workshops, literary study, and publishing courses; students develop a novel-length manuscript with a thesis advisor.

Official program name
Popular Fiction Writing and Publishing MFA – Online
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Popular Fiction Writing and Publishing
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Boston, MAThe administering school's location. Study is online; this is not a residence requirement.
Delivery / residency
Fully onlineAll coursework is completed online and the school does not require in-person attendance.
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Required credits
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

MFA built on genre-fiction writing workshops and a novel-length thesis manuscript, with publishing courses; the writing sample must be fiction.

Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Online study

All coursework is completed online and the school does not require in-person attendance.

Residency schedule and attendance rules: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Published state-authorization restrictions: not verified. Ask the school whether students in your state can enroll.

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

Fiction

Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

  • Novel-length manuscript developed with a thesis advisor.
    Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Craft courses

  • Publishing courses on how books are written, edited, marketed, and brought to readers.
    Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Community and outreach

  • Online write-ins, social hours, and craft talks.
    Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Kirsten Imani Kasai
  • Margot Douaihy
  • Raquel Beatriz Pidal

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Statement of purpose
RequiredAdmission essays (three prompts)
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — 2 letters of recommendation
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026
International applicants
RequiredEnglish proficiency evidence for non-native speakers
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Fictionup to 15 pagesMaximum of 15 pages of fiction in the applicant's preferred genre; poetry, nonfiction, fan fiction, and scripts not acceptedFormatting: double spaced, industry-standard formattingSource: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Funding / priority deadline

    November 1, 2026 · for Spring 2027

    Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    December 1, 2026 · for Spring 2027

    Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Funding / priority deadline

    March 1, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    June 15, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate, per creditFrom the school's rate table for this level$1,551per credit · 2026-2027Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other published fees

Registration Fee (online students)
$50 per semester
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial funding

Tuition coverage
Half- and full-tuition fellowships and a limited number of merit scholarships.
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. emerson.edu/admission-aid/graduate-admissions/ — Official funding / aid page, verified October 9, 2026
  2. emerson.edu/admission-aid/graduate-admissions/graduate-application-process/popular-fiction-writing-a — Official funding / aid page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. emerson.edu/admission-aid/graduate-admissions/graduate-financial-aid/ — Official funding / aid page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. emerson.edu/admission-aid/graduate-admissions/graduate-financial-aid/graduate-tuition-and-cost/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 9, 2026
  5. emerson.edu/programs/creative-writing/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  6. emerson.edu/programs/popular-fiction-writing-and-publishing/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Boston University logo

Boston University

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Boston, MA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time
Genres: Fiction · Poetry
Duration: One year to one and a half years (two academic semesters plus summer study)
Funding: Fully funded (conditions apply)
Tuition: $73,024 per academic year · All students — Graduate, full-time (12-18 credits) · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Northwestern University logo

Northwestern University

MFA in Prose and Poetry

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Prose and Poetry
Location: Evanston, ILSchool location; study is online.
Format: Fully onlineAll coursework is completed online and the school does not require in-person attendance. · Part-time
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $4,000 (basis not stated by the school) · All students — Per course · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Lindenwood University logo

Lindenwood University

Writing, MFA

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Writing
Location: Saint Charles, MOSchool location; study is online.
Format: Fully onlineAll coursework is completed online and the school does not require in-person attendance. · Flexible pace
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: From one and a half years to a maximum of five years, depending on credit hours per term
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: $630 per credit · All students — Graduate tuition (online and on-campus), MFA · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with Emerson College. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.