
Indiana University-Bloomington · Department of English
Master of Fine Arts degree in Creative Writing
Overview
A three-year, campus-based MFA in fiction or poetry requiring at least 60 credit hours and a book-length thesis manuscript. Each student receives a teaching assistantship with tuition remission, health insurance and a stipend of at least $19,000, with continued funding tied to satisfactory progress.
- Official program name
- Master of Fine Arts degree in Creative Writing
- Awarded degree
- Master of Fine Arts in Creative WritingSource: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- School
- Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Location
- Bloomington, IN
- Delivery / residency
- Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Study intensity
- Not verified
- Duration
- Three yearsSource: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Required credits
- Minimum of 60 credit hoursSource: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Teaching language
- English (not separately stated)
- Start
- FallSource: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed
Awarded degree is a Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing.
Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules
Curriculum, genres and faculty
Genres
Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026Workshops
- 16 hours of writing workshops in the student's genre (ENG-W611-W612 Writing Fiction or ENG-W613-W614 Writing Poetry).Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Literature courses
- At least 16 hours of literature and language courses, at least eight at the 600 level or above.Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Thesis / dissertation
- Book-length manuscript thesis; up to 12 credit hours of W699; no final examination.Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching opportunities
- Associate instructors normally teach eight courses over three years, including at least five creative writing workshops.Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Literary journal opportunities
- Editor-in-chief, fiction editor and poetry editor positions at Indiana Review each carry a one-course teaching reduction.Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Faculty listed by the program
- Angela Jackson-Brown — Associate Professor; Director, Creative Writing, fiction
- Ross Gay — Professor, poetry
- Catherine Bowman — Provost Professor, poetry
- Samrat Upadhyay — Distinguished Professor, fiction
- Brando Skyhorse — Professor, fiction
- Doug Paul Case — Academic Specialist; Assistant Director, Creative Writing
- Michael Pontacoloni — Visiting Lecturer; Director, Creative Writing Pedagogy, poetry
As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.
Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026Admissions
- Prior degree
- RequiredB.A. or equivalent degreeSource: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Personal statement
- RequiredPersonal statement (500 word limit)Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Recommendation letters
- Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendationSource: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Transcripts
- RequiredUnofficial transcripts uploaded; official transcripts sent to the Graduate School (domestic) or Office of International Services (international)Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Other requirement
- RequiredStatement about teaching creative writing (500 word limit)Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Writing portfolio
| Genre | Length | Requirement as published |
|---|---|---|
| Fiction | 25–30 pages | 5,000 to 7,500 words (25-30 pages) of fictionSource: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026 |
| Poetry | 12–15 pages | 12-15 pages of poetrySource: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026 |
Tests
- TOEFL iBT
- RequiredFor foreign applicants onlySource: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.
Deadlines
- Year not printed
Application deadline
January 2 · for Fall
The school does not print a year with this date.
Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026 - Year not printed
International applicants
December 1 · for Fall
The school does not print a year with this date.
Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| In-state — Graduate, Indiana residents (estimated tuition and mandatory fees, full-time, 11 credits per semester)From the school's rate table for this level | $11,280 | per academic year · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: studentcentral.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026 |
| Out-of-state — Graduate, nonresidents (estimated tuition and mandatory fees, full-time, 11 credits per semester)From the school's rate table for this level | $30,792 | per academic year · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: studentcentral.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026 |
These are the published rates. The program also states tuition coverage for funded students — see Funding below for what is covered.
Funding
Fully funded (conditions apply)
Published stipend: $19,000 (not stated ("at least $19,000")) · 3 years
- Funding guarantee
- Three years of fully-funded studySource: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Tuition coverage
- Teaching assistantship with tuition remission up to 12 credit hours per semester and 6 in summer, health insurance and partial fee waiverSource: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Stipend
- Stipend of at least $19,000, which can be enhanced with $2,000 IU Creative Writing fellowshipsSource: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Health insurance
- Student health insurance and a partial fee waiverSource: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Assistantship duties
- Normally 2 to 3 courses per year in composition, creative writing and rhetoricSource: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Renewal conditions
- Continued funding contingent on satisfactory progress, continuous enrollment and a cumulative 3.0 GPASource: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
We do not judge whether a stipend is sufficient: living costs differ by city, household and year.
Named scholarships, fellowships and assistantships
Darrell Burton Fellowship in Creative Writing fellowship
Eligibility: Outstanding incoming student in creative writing
Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026Lynda Hull Fellowship in Poetry fellowship
Eligibility: Outstanding incoming student in poetry
Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026Omar S. Castañeda Fellowship in Fiction fellowship
Eligibility: Outstanding incoming student in fiction
Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026Ernest Hemingway Fellowship in Creative Writing fellowship
Eligibility: Graduate students at IUB majoring or concentrating in creative writing, based on demonstrated performance
Source: english.indiana.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Sources and verification
- english.indiana.edu/about/faculty/index.html — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
- english.indiana.edu/graduate/fellowships-awards-teaching-opportunities/creative-writing-funding.html — Official funding / aid page, verified October 9, 2026
- english.indiana.edu/graduate/fellowships-awards-teaching-opportunities/creative-writing-teaching-pac — Official funding / aid page, verified October 9, 2026
- english.indiana.edu/graduate/how-to-apply/apply-creative-writing.html — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
- english.indiana.edu/graduate/master-of-fine-arts-degree/creative-writing-opportunities.html — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
- english.indiana.edu/graduate/master-of-fine-arts-degree/index.html — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
- english.indiana.edu/student-portal/graduate/mfa-degree.html — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
- studentcentral.indiana.edu/cost-of-iu/index.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 9, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
Similar programs
Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with Indiana University-Bloomington. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.