Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
Virginia Commonwealth University logo

Virginia Commonwealth University · Department of English, College of Humanities and Sciences

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative WritingCompetitive full funding

Overview

A 48-credit, three-year MFA with concentrations in fiction, poetry, and creative nonfiction, plus a dual-genre option. Requirements include 12 hours of workshops, 12 hours of graduate literature, and six to 12 hours of thesis work toward a book-length creative thesis.

Official program name
MFA in Creative Writing
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Richmond, VA
Delivery / residency
Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Duration
Three years
Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
Minimum of 48 graduate-level credit hours
Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Fall
Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

The graduate bulletin states that students in each concentration receive a Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing.

Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

FictionPoetryCreative Nonfiction

Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Concentrations and tracks

Workshops

  • 12 semester hours of writing workshops, 12 hours of graduate literature courses, and six to 12 hours of thesis work.
    Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

  • A book-length creative thesis, assessed by a thesis director and second reader, followed by an exit interview or thesis defense.
    Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Internships

  • Students can design up to six credits of independent study and six credits of professional internships, including work on Blackbird.
    Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Teaching opportunities

  • Assistantships include teaching in writing and rhetoric coursework and undergraduate creative writing classes.
    Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Craft courses

  • Regular offerings in screenwriting, form and theory coursework, and literary editing/publishing seminars.
    Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other

  • Nine full-time MFA faculty and approximately 30 graduate students.
    Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Geoff Bouvier — Teaching Assistant Professor
  • Gretchen Comba — Teaching Professor and Associate Chair, English
  • Kathleen Graber — Professor
  • Edgar Kunz — Assistant Professor
  • Sonja Livingston — Associate Professor and Director, MFA in Creative Writing
  • Jessica Hendry Nelson — Associate Professor
  • SJ Sindu — Associate Professor
  • Devon Walker-Figueroa — Assistant Professor

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredA baccalaureate degree or its equivalent from an accredited institution
Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Statement of purpose
RequiredStatement of intent essay as part of the general online application; the program asks applicants to focus on reading and writing habits and experience with criticism.
Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of reference, submitted online by recommenders
Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Critical / academic writing sample
OptionalAssistantship applicants submit a 5-10 page expository paper as part of a separate GTA application document.
Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Fiction20–25 pages20-25 pages of fictionSource: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Poetry—8-10 poemsSource: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Creative Nonfiction20–25 pages20-25 pages of essays, memoir chapters, or flash creative nonfictionSource: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    February 1 · for Fall

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Funding / priority deadline

    January 15 (recommended for full-time applicants seeking assistantships) · for Fall

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: bulletin.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.

Tuition: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Funding

Full funding (tuition and stipend) is available to selected students only. Admission does not guarantee it. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Competitive full fundingPolicy year: 2026-2027

Published stipend: $19,000 – $29,000 (a year (9-12 month annual stipend))

Funding guarantee
Presently, all full-time students are funded; assistantships are not offered to part-time applicants.
Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Tuition coverage
All GTAs include a full tuition waiver plus a 9-12 month annual stipend.
Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Stipend
Starting Fall 2026, assistantship stipends range from $19,000 to $29,000 a year, plus tuition waiver.
Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Stipend
The current average MFA GTA yearly stipend is $19,000.
Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Separate application
Full-time applicants seeking an assistantship submit a separate graduate assistantship application in the online application.
Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Travel stipends for summer writing conferences and study abroad, plus yearly AWP travel funding and registration waivers.
Source: english.vcu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not judge whether a stipend is sufficient: living costs differ by city, household and year.

Named scholarships, fellowships and assistantships

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. bulletin.vcu.edu/graduate/college-humanities-sciences/english/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 9, 2026
  2. bulletin.vcu.edu/graduate/college-humanities-sciences/english/creative-writing-mfa-concentration-poe — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 9, 2026
  3. english.vcu.edu/academics/graduate/mfa-in-creative-writing/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. english.vcu.edu/academics/graduate/mfa-in-creative-writing/application/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  5. english.vcu.edu/academics/graduate/mfa-in-creative-writing/faculty/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  6. english.vcu.edu/academics/graduate/mfa-in-creative-writing/financial-support/ — Official funding / aid page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

George Mason University logo

George Mason University

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Fairfax, VA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry
Duration: Typically completed in three years
Funding: Competitive full funding
Tuition: $700 per credit · In-state — Graduate courses in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, approximate
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Hollins University

Creative Writing M.F.A.

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Roanoke, VA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Two years
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $23,600 (basis not stated by the school) · All students · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Virginia logo

University of Virginia

MFA in Creative Writing Program

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time
Genres: Poetry · Fiction
Duration: Three years, with an option to graduate in two years on an accelerated schedule
Funding: Fully funded (conditions apply)$29,660 stipend (per academic year including summer in years one and two ($37,080); $29,660 in year three (no summer support))
Tuition: $22,770 per academic year · In-state — GSAS master's programs, Virginia resident, full time (12 credits per term) · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with Virginia Commonwealth University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.