Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
University of Virginia logo

University of Virginia · Creative Writing Program (Department of English)

MFA in Creative Writing Program

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative WritingFully funded (conditions apply)Editorial selection: Best MFA Creative Writing Programs

Overview

A full-time, residential MFA in poetry and fiction designed as a three-year program, with the option to graduate in two years. Students complete 24 hours of required coursework (workshops and literature) plus non-topical research hours and a thesis. Students entering in 2026-27 receive up to $37,080 per year in the first two years and up to $29,660 in the third, plus tuition, enrollment fees and single-person health insurance.

Official program name
MFA in Creative Writing Program
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Charlottesville, VA
Delivery / residency
Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Duration
Three years, with an option to graduate in two years on an accelerated schedule
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
Twenty-four hours of required coursework and up to forty-eight hours of non-topical research
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Fall
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

Awarded degree is the Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing.

Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

PoetryFiction

Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Workshops

Literature courses

Thesis / dissertation

  • Thesis of generally at least a hundred pages of prose or fifty of poetry, completed by early April of the final year and defended before graduation.
    Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Teaching opportunities

  • Students admitted for 2026-27 do not teach in the first year; in the second year they teach one creative writing workshop each semester, largely of their own design.
    Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Readings and visiting writers

  • Rea Visiting Writers spend a week in residence, give a reading and craft talk, and hold one-on-one manuscript consultations with MFA students.
    Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Micheline Aharonian Marcom — Director of Creative Writing Program
  • Jane Alison — Professor of Creative Writing
  • Anna Beecher — Assistant Professor in Creative Writing
  • Sumita Chakraborty — Assistant Professor of Creative Writing
  • Helen Chandler — Assistant Professor
  • Rita Dove — Henry Hoyns Professor of Creative Writing
  • Kiki Petrosino — Professor of Poetry, poetry
  • Lisa Russ Spaar — Professor of Creative Writing
  • Brian Teare — Professor of Poetry; Director of the Poetry Writing Concentration, poetry

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Statement of purpose
Required500- to 1000-word statement of purpose
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
CV / résumé
RequiredResume or CV
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredCollege transcripts; unofficial versions accepted to apply
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
International applicants
Not verifiedInternational applicants welcome; funding is the same as for U.S. citizens
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredGenerative AI tools may not be used in any part of the application
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Fictionup to 20 pagesOne or more short stories or a section of a novel, not exceeding 20 pagesFormatting: 12-point type, conventional font, one-inch margins, standard double-spacingSource: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Poetryup to 12 pagesA sheaf of poems of no more than 12 pagesFormatting: Same as fiction, except poems can be single-spacedSource: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
TOEFL iBT
OptionalESL applicants may submit TOEFL scores or alternate documentation of English proficiency
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    December 15, 11:59 p.m. Eastern Standard Time (applications open October 1) · for Fall 2027 · America/New_York

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — GSAS master's programs, Virginia resident, full time (12 credits per term)From the school's rate table for this level$22,770per academic year · 2026-2027Source: graduate.as.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Out-of-state — GSAS master's programs, non-resident, full time (12 credits per term)From the school's rate table for this level$38,384per academic year · 2026-2027Source: graduate.as.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other published fees

Comprehensive fee, Virginia resident (non-resident $4,630)
$3,948 per academic yearMandatory
Source: graduate.as.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

These are the published rates. The program also states tuition coverage for funded students — see Funding below for what is covered.

Funding

Tuition coverage and a stipend are offered to all admitted students, subject to conditions the program publishes (for example satisfactory progress). “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Fully funded (conditions apply)Policy year: 2026-2027

Published stipend: $29,660 – $37,080 (per academic year including summer in years one and two ($37,080); $29,660 in year three (no summer support)) · 2 years

Tuition coverage
Full funding of tuition, enrollment fees and single-person health insurance premium
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Stipend
Up to $37,080 in the first two academic years and up to $29,660 in the third for students joining in 2026-27
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Years guaranteed
Third year requires approval based on performance, teaching evaluations and thesis progress
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Summer funding
Two summers of fellowship support; third-year students do not receive summer support
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Assistantship duties
No teaching in the first year for 2026-27 entrants; one creative writing workshop each semester in the second year; 2/2 load in an approved third year
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Renewal conditions
Support contingent on satisfactory academic performance and compliance with university policies; no reapplication needed
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026
International students
International students receive the same funding as U.S. citizens
Source: creativewriting.virginia.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not judge whether a stipend is sufficient: living costs differ by city, household and year.

Named scholarships, fellowships and assistantships

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. creativewriting.virginia.edu/about — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  2. creativewriting.virginia.edu/apply — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. creativewriting.virginia.edu/curriculum — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. creativewriting.virginia.edu/faculty-and-staff — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  5. creativewriting.virginia.edu/funding — Official funding / aid page, verified October 9, 2026
  6. graduate.as.virginia.edu/tuition-and-health-premiums — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

George Mason University logo

George Mason University

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Fairfax, VA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry
Duration: Typically completed in three years
Funding: Competitive full funding
Tuition: $700 per credit · In-state — Graduate courses in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, approximate
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Hollins University

Creative Writing M.F.A.

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Roanoke, VA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Two years
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $23,600 (basis not stated by the school) · All students · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Virginia Commonwealth University logo

Virginia Commonwealth University

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Richmond, VA
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time, Part-time
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Three years
Funding: Competitive full funding$19,000 stipend (a year (9-12 month annual stipend))
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with University of Virginia. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.