Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
The University of Texas at Austin logo

The University of Texas at Austin · Michener Center for Writers; New Writers Project (Department of English)

Michener Center for Writers MFA in Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in WritingFully funded (conditions apply)Editorial selection: Best MFA Creative Writing Programs

Overview

A three-year, full-time residency MFA in which writers are admitted in a primary genre (fiction, poetry, playwriting or screenwriting) and also study a secondary genre, for a 54-hour degree plan with no teaching duties. Every admitted Fellow receives the same fellowship, tuition payment and health insurance stipend, renewed each year with satisfactory progress.

Official program name
Michener Center for Writers MFA in Writing
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Writing
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Austin, TX
Delivery / residency
Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Duration
Three years
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
54-hour degree plan
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Fall
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

The Michener Center awards an MFA in Writing that its own pages describe as a creative writing MFA, with concentrations in fiction, poetry, screenwriting and playwriting.

Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

FictionPoetryPlaywritingScreenwriting

Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Workshops

  • Three workshops in the primary genre and two in the secondary genre; three courses each fall and spring, no summer classes.
    Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

  • Year-long thesis course in the third year focused on a manuscript in the primary genre.
    Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other

Faculty listed by the program

Faculty list: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree before the first semester; 3.0 GPA under UT graduate admission guidelines.
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Statement of purpose
RequiredStatement of purpose, limit 750 words.
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three recommenders; no hard-copy letters or Interfolio.
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
CV / résumé
OptionalCV or list of awards not required but may be uploaded.
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
Required$65 — $65 for U.S. applicants, $90 for international applicants.
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee waiver
OptionalFee waivers through the Office of Graduate Admissions, U.S. students only.
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcript from every senior college attended, due by December 1.
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Fictionup to 9000 wordsStories, a novel excerpt, or a combination, not to exceed 9,000 words.Formatting: double-spaced, 12pt minimum, standard marginsSource: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Poetry10–25 pagesAt least 10 poems, not to exceed 25 pages.Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Screenwriting90–120 pagesA feature-length original screenplay (90-120 pages) or a 30- or 60-minute TV pilot.Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Playwriting—A full-length play or two one-act plays.Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredInternational students whose native language is not English; TOEFL or IELTS
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Dec 1, 11:59 pm CT · for Fall 2027 · America/Chicago

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Supporting documents

    Dec 31, 11:59 pm CT (letters of recommendation) · for Fall 2027 · America/Chicago

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.

Tuition: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Funding

Tuition coverage and a stipend are offered to all admitted students, subject to conditions the program publishes (for example satisfactory progress). “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Fully funded (conditions apply)

Published stipend: $32,500 – $36,500 (academic year (fall and spring); $36,500 total annual award with summer stipend) · 3 years

Funding guarantee
Each admitted student receives equal funding.
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Tuition coverage
The Center directly pays required tuition (approximately $9,000 annual value).
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Stipend
$32,500 academic-year fellowship plus $4,000 summer stipend, $36,500 total annual award.
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Health insurance
$4,000 stipend for health insurance.
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Renewal conditions
Support renewed each year with satisfactory progress.
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Conference attendance grant of up to $1,000 per academic year.
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not judge whether a stipend is sufficient: living costs differ by city, household and year.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. michener.utexas.edu/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  2. michener.utexas.edu/apply/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. michener.utexas.edu/apply/faq/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. michener.utexas.edu/our-mfa/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Texas State University

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts (M.F.A.) Major in Creative Writing
Location: San Marcos, TX
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry
Duration: Three years
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $4,514.49 per semester · In-state — Graduate, resident, 9 hours, Fall 2026 (tuition and fees) · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: El Paso, TX
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Literary Translation · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Two years
Funding: Partial funding$12,000 stipend (per year (about $1,200 per month, October to June))
Tuition: $3,300 per semester · Approximate tuition per semester for 9 hours (residency status not stated)
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Houston logo

University of Houston

M.F.A. in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Houston, TX
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction
Duration: Three years of teaching-assistantship support (6 long semesters)
Funding: Competitive full funding$18,235.89 stipend (9 months (first-year salary))
Tuition: $412.74 per credit · In-state — CLASS - Liberal Arts Masters, resident (consolidated tuition and incidental fees per SCH) · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with The University of Texas at Austin. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.