Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
The University of Texas at Austin logo

The University of Texas at Austin · Michener Center for Writers; New Writers Project (Department of English)

New Writers Project MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative WritingFully funded (conditions apply)Editorial selection: Best MFA Creative Writing Programs

Overview

A three-year studio MFA in fiction or poetry requiring 48 hours of coursework, 27 of them in creative writing workshops and seminars, and a Master's Report. All students receive three years of funding through teaching assistantships, assistant instructorships and a final-semester fellowship.

Official program name
New Writers Project MFA in Creative Writing
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: michener.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Austin, TX
Delivery / residency
Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Duration
Three years (six semesters)
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
48 hours of coursework
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Fall
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

The New Writers Project in the Department of English offers an MFA in Creative Writing with fiction and poetry tracks.

Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

FictionPoetry

Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Workshops

  • Writing workshops and Literature for Writers seminars taught by NWP faculty and visiting writers.
    Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

  • Master's Report: a significant collection of polished creative work, supervised by a core faculty member in a year-long conference course.
    Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Teaching opportunities

  • Students teach literature and creative writing during their first five semesters; the final semester is a non-working fellowship.
    Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Literary journal opportunities

Faculty listed by the program

  • Edward Carey — Core faculty, fiction
  • Oscar Cásares — Core faculty, fiction
  • Bret Anthony Johnston — Core faculty, fiction
  • Peter LaSalle — Core faculty, fiction
  • Elizabeth McCracken — Core faculty, fiction
  • Deb Olin Unferth — Core faculty, fiction
  • Lisa Olstein — Core faculty, poetry
  • Roger Reeves — Core faculty, poetry
  • Jennifer Chang — Core faculty, poetry

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution or comparable foreign degree.
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredGPA of at least 3.0 in upper-division coursework.
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Statement of purpose
RequiredShort single-spaced statement of purpose, 1-2 pages.
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters; no Interfolio.
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
Required$65 — $65 for U.S. students; $90 for international students.
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredPDF copies of official transcripts from each senior college attended.
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
International applicants
RequiredInternational applicants submit TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo scores.
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Poetryup to 15 pagesMaximum of 15 pages of poetry.Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Fictionup to 9000 wordsUp to 9,000 words of prose.Formatting: 12-point font, double-spacedSource: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    December 1, 2026 · for Fall 2027 · America/Chicago

    Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Supporting documents

    January 1 (grace period for transcripts and recommendation letters) · for Fall 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.

Tuition: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Funding

Tuition coverage and a stipend are offered to all admitted students, subject to conditions the program publishes (for example satisfactory progress). “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Fully funded (conditions apply)Policy year: 2024-2025

Published stipend: $20,760 – $22,995 (9-month academic year (2024-2025 TA and AI rates)) · 3 years

Funding guarantee
All students receive three years of funding through TA, AI and fellowship support, including tuition remission, health insurance and a stipend.
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Stipend
9-month TA stipend $20,760 and AI stipend $22,995 for 2024-25.
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Summer funding
$4,000 total summer funding awarded to all students in recent years; renewed annually.
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Health insurance
100% premium support for the student health insurance plan.
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Assistantship duties
TA for literature surveys in years one and two; one semester TA/AI in creative writing and one fellowship semester in year three.
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Renewal conditions
Renewed semester by semester, contingent on adequate progress and TA/AI performance.
Source: liberalarts.utexas.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not judge whether a stipend is sufficient: living costs differ by city, household and year.

Named scholarships, fellowships and assistantships

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. liberalarts.utexas.edu/nwp/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  2. liberalarts.utexas.edu/nwp/how-to-apply/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. liberalarts.utexas.edu/nwp/how-to-apply/admissions-faq.html — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. liberalarts.utexas.edu/nwp/our-mfa/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  5. michener.utexas.edu/apply/faq/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Texas State University

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts (M.F.A.) Major in Creative Writing
Location: San Marcos, TX
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry
Duration: Three years
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $4,514.49 per semester · In-state — Graduate, resident, 9 hours, Fall 2026 (tuition and fees) · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: El Paso, TX
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Literary Translation · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Two years
Funding: Partial funding$12,000 stipend (per year (about $1,200 per month, October to June))
Tuition: $3,300 per semester · Approximate tuition per semester for 9 hours (residency status not stated)
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Houston logo

University of Houston

M.F.A. in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Houston, TX
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction
Duration: Three years of teaching-assistantship support (6 long semesters)
Funding: Competitive full funding$18,235.89 stipend (9 months (first-year salary))
Tuition: $412.74 per credit · In-state — CLASS - Liberal Arts Masters, resident (consolidated tuition and incidental fees per SCH) · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with The University of Texas at Austin. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.