Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms

The University of Texas at El Paso · Department of Creative Writing

Residential Bilingual M.F.A. in Creative Writing

MFAM.F.A. in Creative WritingPartial funding

Overview

A residential bilingual (English and Spanish) MFA in El Paso in fiction, poetry, literary translation and nonfiction, requiring 36 credit hours over two years and a book-length manuscript with a critical preface. All applicants are considered for teaching assistantships that pay a monthly salary; tuition is not covered by the assistantship.

Official program name
Residential Bilingual M.F.A. in Creative Writing
Awarded degree
M.F.A. in Creative Writing
Source: catalog.utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
El Paso, TX
Delivery / residency
Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Source: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified
Duration
Two years
Source: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
36 credit hours
Source: catalog.utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English and Spanish
Source: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

Awarded degree is an MFA in Creative Writing (residential bilingual program).

Source: catalog.utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

FictionPoetryLiterary TranslationCreative Nonfiction

Source: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

  • Book-length manuscript of fiction, poetry, play, essay collection, translation or screenplay with a critical preface.
    Source: catalog.utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Workshops

Literary journal opportunities

  • MFA students edit the bilingual journal Río Grande Review.
    Source: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Teaching opportunities

  • First-year teaching assistants take a pedagogy course and observe or assist an instructor.
    Source: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • José de Pierola — Director of Graduate Studies, Bilingual M.F.A.

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredA bachelor's degree in any field of study
Source: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Minimum GPA
RecommendedSuccessful applicants typically have an undergraduate GPA of 3.0 or higher
Source: catalog.utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Statement of purpose
RequiredStatement of purpose
Source: catalog.utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: catalog.utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
Required$45 — $45 for applicants from the US and Mexico; $85 for international students
Source: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial undergraduate transcript
Source: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other requirement
Not requiredApplicants do not need to be bilingual
Source: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Poetry—8 to 10 poemsSource: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Any / all genresup to 20 pagesProse (fiction, drama, screenplay, creative nonfiction or literary essay): not more than 20 pages or 6,000 wordsSource: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    February 15 (each academic year)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Approximate tuition per semester for 9 hours (residency status not stated)Published for campus-based study$3,300per semesterSource: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial funding

Published stipend: $12,000 (per year (about $1,200 per month, October to June))

Tuition coverage
Tuition is not covered by the teaching assistantship.
Source: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Stipend
About $1,200 per month for 20 hours per week, about $12,000 per year.
Source: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Summer funding
Teaching assistants are not paid during winter break or summer vacation.
Source: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Separate application
All applicants are considered for a teaching assistantship; no separate application.
Source: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Assistantships are offered to many students.
Source: utep.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not judge whether a stipend is sufficient: living costs differ by city, household and year.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Texas State University

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts (M.F.A.) Major in Creative Writing
Location: San Marcos, TX
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry
Duration: Three years
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $4,514.49 per semester · In-state — Graduate, resident, 9 hours, Fall 2026 (tuition and fees) · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Austin, TX
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Playwriting · Screenwriting
Duration: Three years
Funding: Fully funded (conditions apply)$32,500 stipend (academic year (fall and spring); $36,500 total annual award with summer stipend)
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
University of Houston logo

University of Houston

M.F.A. in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Houston, TX
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction
Duration: Three years of teaching-assistantship support (6 long semesters)
Funding: Competitive full funding$18,235.89 stipend (9 months (first-year salary))
Tuition: $412.74 per credit · In-state — CLASS - Liberal Arts Masters, resident (consolidated tuition and incidental fees per SCH) · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with The University of Texas at El Paso. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.