Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
University of Houston logo

University of Houston · Department of English (Creative Writing Program)

M.F.A. in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative WritingCompetitive full funding

Overview

A campus-based MFA in Houston for poets and fiction writers that combines creative writing and literary study: 36 hours of coursework (five creative writing classes, three literature classes, two electives) plus 6 hours of thesis and a foreign-language reading requirement. Teaching assistantships are offered for up to three years with guaranteed tuition remission for their duration.

Official program name
M.F.A. in Creative Writing
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Houston, TX
Delivery / residency
Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified
Duration
Three years of teaching-assistantship support (6 long semesters)
Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
36 hours of coursework plus 6 hours of M.F.A. Thesis
Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this degree is listed

Awarded degree is an M.F.A. in Creative Writing.

Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

PoetryFiction

Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Workshops

  • Five creative writing classes: three workshops in the primary genre, Forms and Techniques, and a Master Workshop.
    Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Literature courses

  • Three literature classes divided between pre-1900 and post-1900 literature, plus Writers on Literature.
    Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other

  • Reading knowledge of a foreign language is required.
    Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
  • The department describes the degree as not a studio degree.
    Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

  • Extended creative work with a 10-15 page reflective introduction, followed by a defense.
    Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Erin Belieu
  • Robert Boswell
  • Audrey Colombe
  • Chitra Divakaruni
  • Nick Flynn
  • francine j. harris
  • Antonya Nelson
  • Alex Parsons
  • Kevin Prufer
  • Brenda Peynado
  • Martha Serpas
  • Roberto Tejada

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredB.A. degree with a 3.0 undergraduate GPA.
Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Minimum GPA
Required3.0 GPA in undergraduate studies.
Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Statement of purpose
RequiredStatement of Intent, 1,000 words or less.
Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters from people who can assess the applicant's writing.
Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
RequiredOnline application and application fee; a separate packet and fee for each genre applied to.
Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts with the application; official transcripts if accepted.
Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
International applicants
RequiredThe Graduate School requires proof of English proficiency from all applicants.
Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Poetryup to 10 pagesMaximum 10 pages of poetryFormatting: can be single-spacedSource: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Fiction20–25 pages20-25 pages of fictionFormatting: double-spaced, numbered, single-sided pagesSource: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    January 15 (year not printed) · for Fall 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — CLASS - Liberal Arts Masters, resident (consolidated tuition and incidental fees per SCH)From the school's rate table for this level$412.74per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesCalculated$17,335.08 total = 42 credits × $412.74 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, residency or travel costs, and any rate change during the program.Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Out-of-state — CLASS - Liberal Arts Masters, non-resident (consolidated tuition and incidental fees per SCH)From the school's rate table for this level$940.74per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesCalculated$39,511.08 total = 42 credits × $940.74 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, residency or travel costs, and any rate change during the program.Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Full funding (tuition and stipend) is available to selected students only. Admission does not guarantee it. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Competitive full funding

Published stipend: $18,235.89 (9 months (first-year salary))

Funding guarantee
The program makes a serious effort to locate a teaching assistantship for all who apply and seek one.
Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Tuition coverage
Tuition remission/coverage guaranteed for all 3 years of the MFA teaching assistantship.
Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Stipend
First-year MFA salary of $18,235.89 for 9 months.
Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Expected workload
Teaching load 2/2 the first two years (including first-year facilitation) and 2/1 the final year.
Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
International students
For non-Texas residents, assistantships provide eligibility for a waiver of the non-resident portion of tuition.
Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Average financial package for incoming MFA students was more than $90,000 over 3 years, including tuition remission.
Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not judge whether a stipend is sufficient: living costs differ by city, household and year.

Named scholarships, fellowships and assistantships

  • Inprint fellowships fellowship

    Annual competition: 3 fellowships of $10,000, 1 of $5,000 (nonfiction), and 4 of $2,500 · Awards: 8

    Eligibility: Students admitted to the graduate creative writing program

    How to apply: Annual student competition

    Source: uh.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. uh.edu/class/english/programs/graduate-studies/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  2. uh.edu/class/english/programs/graduate-studies/mfa-creative-writing/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. uh.edu/class/english/programs/graduate-studies/mfa-creative-writing/financial-aid/index.php — Official funding / aid page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. uh.edu/class/english/programs/graduate-studies/mfa-creative-writing/how-to-apply/index.php — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  5. uh.edu/class/english/programs/graduate-studies/mfa-creative-writing/program-breakdown/index.php — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  6. uh.edu/one-stop/financial/graduate/tuition-fees/tuition/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Texas State University

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts (M.F.A.) Major in Creative Writing
Location: San Marcos, TX
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry
Duration: Three years
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $4,514.49 per semester · In-state — Graduate, resident, 9 hours, Fall 2026 (tuition and fees) · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Austin, TX
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Playwriting · Screenwriting
Duration: Three years
Funding: Fully funded (conditions apply)$32,500 stipend (academic year (fall and spring); $36,500 total annual award with summer stipend)
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: El Paso, TX
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Literary Translation · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Two years
Funding: Partial funding$12,000 stipend (per year (about $1,200 per month, October to June))
Tuition: $3,300 per semester · Approximate tuition per semester for 9 hours (residency status not stated)
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with University of Houston. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.