Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
Northwestern University logo

Northwestern University · Department of English (Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences); School of Professional Studies

MFA in Prose and Poetry

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Prose and PoetryPartial funding

Overview

A part-time, 15-course MFA offered fully online through live Zoom workshops, with specializations in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, dual-genre, or publishing and professional development, ending in a creative thesis. Tuition for 2026-2027 is listed at $4,000 per course.

Official program name
MFA in Prose and Poetry
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Prose and Poetry
Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: catalogs.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Evanston, ILThe administering school's location. Study is online; this is not a residence requirement.
Delivery / residency
Fully onlineAll coursework is completed online and the school does not require in-person attendance.
Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Required credits
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Fall, Winter, Spring, Summer
Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

MFA with an unusual title whose official text establishes a dedicated creative writing degree (workshops in fiction, nonfiction, poetry; creative thesis).

Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Online study

All coursework is completed online and the school does not require in-person attendance.

Residency schedule and attendance rules: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Published state-authorization restrictions: not verified. Ask the school whether students in your state can enroll.

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

FictionCreative NonfictionPoetry

Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Concentrations and tracks

Workshops

  • 15-course curriculum with workshops in a concentration, electives and two thesis courses.
    Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

Other

Literary journal opportunities

Teaching opportunities

  • Training to teach creative writing, with internships (practica) in teaching and publishing.
    Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Christine Sneed — Faculty Director, fiction
  • Paula Carter
  • Leland Cheuk
  • Gioia Diliberto
  • Gina Frangello

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredU.S. bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution or foreign equivalent
Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Statement of purpose
RequiredStatement of purpose, 300 to 550 words
Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two recommenders
Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026
CV / résumé
RequiredResume
Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
Required$75 — $75 non-refundable application fee
Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts
Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Critical / academic writing sample
RequiredBrief analytical paper (5 to 10 pages)
Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Any / all genres—About 20 typed, double-spaced pages of prose, 15 to 20 pages of poetry, or the equivalent in published workFormatting: typed, double-spacedSource: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 5International applicants without a qualifying degree; band scale from January 21, 2026 (100 on 0-120 scale for earlier tests).
Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026
IELTS Academic
Optional — minimum 7Alternative to TOEFL
Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Per coursePublished for fully online study$4,000(basis not stated by the school) · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026
All students — Estimated program total including technology fees (15 courses)Published for fully online study$60,000entire program · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial fundingPolicy year: 2026-2027

Tuition coverage
Full tuition remission for the fifteenth course for students in good academic standing (total $56,000).
Source: sps.northwestern.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. catalogs.northwestern.edu/undergraduate/arts-sciences/english/creative-writing-major/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 9, 2026
  2. sps.northwestern.edu/masters/admission.html — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. sps.northwestern.edu/masters/prose-and-poetry/faculty.html — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. sps.northwestern.edu/masters/prose-and-poetry/index.html — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Lindenwood University logo

Lindenwood University

Writing, MFA

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Writing
Location: Saint Charles, MOSchool location; study is online.
Format: Fully onlineAll coursework is completed online and the school does not require in-person attendance. · Flexible pace
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: From one and a half years to a maximum of five years, depending on credit hours per term
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: $630 per credit · All students — Graduate tuition (online and on-campus), MFA · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Champaign, IL
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time
Genres: Fiction · Poetry
Duration: Three academic years
Funding: Fully funded (conditions apply)
Tuition: $14,908 per academic year · In-state — Graduate base, resident · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Emerson College logo

Emerson College

Popular Fiction Writing and Publishing MFA – Online

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Popular Fiction Writing and Publishing
Location: Boston, MASchool location; study is online.
Format: Fully onlineAll coursework is completed online and the school does not require in-person attendance. · Full-time, Part-time
Genres: Fiction
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $1,551 per credit · All students — Graduate, per credit · 2026-2027
Deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with Northwestern University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.