Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
Lindenwood University logo

Lindenwood University · English, Language, and Interdisciplinary Studies (College of Arts and Humanities)

Writing, MFA

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in WritingFunding not verified

Overview

A 48-credit-hour MFA in Writing delivered fully online with no residency, in asynchronous 8-week terms, culminating in a six-credit thesis. Emphases in fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction and young adult/middle grade are optional. Admission is rolling and based on a writing sample and statement of purpose; assistantships are not available.

Official program name
Writing, MFA
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Writing
Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Saint Charles, MOThe administering school's location. Study is online; this is not a residence requirement.
Delivery / residency
Fully onlineAll coursework is completed online and the school does not require in-person attendance.
Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Flexible pace
Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Duration
From one and a half years to a maximum of five years, depending on credit hours per term
Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
48 credit hours, including a 6-credit thesis
Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this degree is listed

MFA in Writing whose official description establishes it as a creative writing degree (craft of creative writing; emphases in fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, YA/middle grade).

Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Online study

All coursework is completed online and the school does not require in-person attendance.
Between residencies
Online classes are asynchronous in Canvas; students participate at least three times per week.
Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
One synchronous hybrid class is offered each fall and spring term; local students may attend on campus and out-of-state students via webcam.
Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Published state-authorization restrictions: not verified. Ask the school whether students in your state can enroll.

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

FictionPoetryCreative Nonfiction

Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Concentrations and tracks

Thesis / dissertation

  • Two-course, six-credit thesis sequence taken in the final term.
    Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other

  • An emphasis requires at least 27 credit hours in the emphasis area including one Foundations course.
    Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026
  • Up to 9 credit hours of applicable graduate transfer credit accepted as electives.
    Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Literary journal opportunities

  • Students may serve as editorial assistants on The Lindenwood Review.
    Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Shana Youngdahl — Writing professor, full-time MFA faculty
  • Beth Mead — Writing professor, full-time MFA faculty; editor of The Lindenwood Review
  • Joe Baumann — Department Head, MFA in Writing
  • Tom Cooper — Faculty
  • Tony D'Souza — Faculty
  • Mary M. Anderson — Faculty

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredAny completed undergraduate degree
Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredTranscripts with a minimum GPA of 3.0; lower GPA to be discussed with an enrollment counselor
Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Statement of purpose
RequiredStatement of purpose, about one to two double-spaced pages
Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Not requiredNo letters of recommendation
Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026
International applicants
Not verifiedInternational students have additional admissions requirements.
Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Any / all genres7–10 pages7 to 10 pages of creative writing; may combine fiction, poetry and creative nonfictionFormatting: Double-space fiction and nonfiction; single-space poems; no more than one poem per pageSource: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate tuition (online and on-campus), MFAPublished for fully online studyFrom the school's rate table for this level$630per credit · 2026-2027Calculated$30,240 total = 48 credits × $630 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, residency or travel costs, and any rate change during the program.Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Funding not verified

Separate application
One 3-credit class per term can be taken in order to apply for financial aid or student loans.
Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Assistantships are not available at this time.
Source: lindenwood.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Northwestern University logo

Northwestern University

MFA in Prose and Poetry

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Prose and Poetry
Location: Evanston, ILSchool location; study is online.
Format: Fully onlineAll coursework is completed online and the school does not require in-person attendance. · Part-time
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $4,000 (basis not stated by the school) · All students — Per course · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Emerson College logo

Emerson College

Popular Fiction Writing and Publishing MFA – Online

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Popular Fiction Writing and Publishing
Location: Boston, MASchool location; study is online.
Format: Fully onlineAll coursework is completed online and the school does not require in-person attendance. · Full-time, Part-time
Genres: Fiction
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $1,551 per credit · All students — Graduate, per credit · 2026-2027
Deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program
Location: St. Louis, MO
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Two years
Funding: Fully funded (all admitted)$34,510 stipend (12 months)
Tuition: $66,850 per academic year · All students — Value of full tuition remission (covered by the A&S Fellowship) · 2025-2026
Deadline: December 1, 2026 · Fall 2027

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with Lindenwood University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.