Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign · Department of English, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative WritingFully funded (conditions apply)Editorial selection: Best MFA Creative Writing Programs

Overview

A three-year, 48-hour campus MFA in fiction or poetry with workshops, a craft course, literature courses and a final book-length project. The department states admitted students receive full tuition waivers, guaranteed teaching assistantships and partial-fee waivers for the program's duration while in good standing and making reasonable progress.

Official program name
MFA in Creative Writing
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Champaign, IL
Delivery / residency
Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Duration
Three academic years
Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
48 graduate hours
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Fall
Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

The catalog lists the program as Creative Writing, MFA for the degree of Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing.

Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

FictionPoetry

Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Workshops

  • Four genre workshops over the first four semesters plus a first-semester craft class
    Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

  • Final Project hours (CW 595) toward a book-length manuscript; a public reading from the project is required
    Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Teaching opportunities

  • Teaching experience is required; MFA students teach in the rhetoric program and at least one creative writing workshop
    Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Literary journal opportunities

Literature courses

Faculty listed by the program

  • Ángel García — poetry
  • Gabriela Garcia — fiction
  • Amy Hassinger — fiction
  • Christopher Kempf — poetry
  • Ted Sanders — fiction
  • Alex Shakar — fiction
  • Corey Van Landingham — poetry
  • David Wright Faladé — fiction

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredGraduate College minimum undergraduate GPA of 3.0
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Statement of purpose
RequiredStatement of purpose of 300-500 words
Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Personal statement
RequiredShort personal statements of up to 250 words
Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
CV / résumé
RecommendedA concise résumé is encouraged
Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
RequiredGraduate College online application with an application fee
Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUpload one copy of each transcript of all previous college-level work
Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredAcademic statement of up to 1,000 words
Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Fiction20–25 pages20-25 pages of fictionSource: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Poetryup to 15 pages15 pages of poetrySource: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 550For applicants whose native language is not English; 550 is the paper-based minimum printed in the catalog
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Genre-specific deadline · fiction

    December 1, 12:00 noon (CST) · for Fall 2027 · America/Chicago

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Genre-specific deadline · poetry

    December 15, 12:00 noon (CST) · for Fall 2027 · America/Chicago

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — Graduate base, residentFrom the school's rate table for this level$14,908per academic year · 2026-2027Source: registrar.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Out-of-state — Graduate base, non-residentFrom the school's rate table for this level$32,204per academic year · 2026-2027Source: registrar.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
International — Graduate base, internationalFrom the school's rate table for this level$32,204per academic year · 2026-2027Source: registrar.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026

These are the published rates. The program also states tuition coverage for funded students — see Funding below for what is covered.

Funding

Tuition coverage and a stipend are offered to all admitted students, subject to conditions the program publishes (for example satisfactory progress). “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Fully funded (conditions apply)

Funding guarantee
Full tuition waivers, guaranteed teaching assistantships and partial-fee waivers for the duration of the program, subject to good standing and reasonable progress
Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Mandatory fees
Partial-fee waivers
Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Expected workload
Teaching load 1/1 in the first year, 2/1 in the second year (with possible reduction via Ninth Letter assistantships), 1/1 in the third year
Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Renewal conditions
Conditional on good standing and reasonable progress toward the degree
Source: english.illinois.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. catalog.illinois.edu/graduate/las/creative-writing-mfa/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 9, 2026
  2. english.illinois.edu/academics/our-mfa-creative-writing — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. english.illinois.edu/admissions/mfa-creative-writing/application-requirements — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. english.illinois.edu/admissions/why-creative-writing/mfa-creative-writing-curriculum-and-requirement — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  5. registrar.illinois.edu/g-tuition-rates-2627/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Northwestern University logo

Northwestern University

MFA in Prose and Poetry

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Prose and Poetry
Location: Evanston, ILSchool location; study is online.
Format: Fully onlineAll coursework is completed online and the school does not require in-person attendance. · Part-time
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $4,000 (basis not stated by the school) · All students — Per course · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Chicago, IL
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry · Playwriting · Cross-Genre / Interdisciplinary
Duration: Two years
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $2,066 per credit · All students — Graduate, per credit hour · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.