Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms

Vermont College of Fine Arts · Vermont College of Fine Arts (VCFA), a CalArts affiliate

MFA in Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in WritingPartial fundingEditorial selection: Best Low-Residency MFA Creative Writing Programs

Overview

A two-year low-residency MFA: four semesters and five nine-day residencies, held on the CalArts campus in Valencia, California, with the option to attend each residency in person or remotely. Semesters are spent working one-on-one with a faculty advisor through monthly exchanges; students complete a critical thesis, a creative thesis and a lecture.

Official program name
MFA in Writing
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Writing
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Montpelier, VTWhere the program is administered. Most study happens remotely between residencies; residencies take place in Residencies are held in Valencia, California (Los Angeles County): Summer June 24 - July 1, 2026 and Winter January 2 - 9, 2027..
Delivery / residency
Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified
Duration
2 years (4 semesters, 5 nine-day residencies)
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
16 credits per semester
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Winter (January), Summer (June)
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

MFA in Writing devoted to creative writing in fiction, poetry and creative nonfiction, with a creative thesis.

Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Residencies and remote study

Short, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Frequency
Two semesters per year (summer and winter), each beginning with a nine-day residency.
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Length of each residency
Nine-day residencies; five residencies over the program.
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Residencies are held in Valencia, California (Los Angeles County): Summer June 24 - July 1, 2026 and Winter January 2 - 9, 2027.
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
VCFA's six MFA programs are held on the CalArts campus in Southern California; the administrative office remains in Vermont.
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Attendance
Residencies are hybrid; students choose in-person or remote attendance three months ahead, and all students must participate fully in all events either way.
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Students must select a residency mode (in person or remote) three months before the residency.
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Accommodation
Housing & meals (double-occupancy room) $1,421 per 6-month semester, Winter 2027 - Summer 2027.
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Residency fee
Estimated two-year program cost includes a graduating residency cost of $998.
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Between residencies
After residency, students study from home at least 25 hours per week with monthly exchanges with their faculty advisor.
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Between residencies
Four packets per semester, each 25-37 pages of prose or 5-7 poems (max 12 pages).
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

FictionPoetryCreative NonfictionCross-Genre / Interdisciplinary

Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Concentrations and tracks

  • Single genre (four semesters in fiction, creative nonfiction or poetry)
    Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
  • Dual genre (five semesters in two forms)
    Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
  • Cross-genre (one semester outside the primary genre)
    Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Workshops

  • Residency workshops are led by one or two faculty members and typically include six to eight students.
    Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

  • Critical thesis by the end of the third semester; book-length creative thesis by the end of the fourth.
    Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Teaching opportunities

  • Students deliver a lecture and give a literary reading at the final residency.
    Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Internships

  • Internship opportunities with Hunger Mountain Review.
    Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other

  • Expected workload of 25 hours per week.
    Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Sue William Silverman — Faculty Co-chair, MFA in Writing
  • Adam McOmber — Faculty Co-chair, MFA in Writing
  • Ira Sukrungruang — MFA in Writing Faculty
  • edwin bodney

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited college or university (exceptions in very rare cases)
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Personal statement
RequiredPersonal essay, 2-3 double-spaced pages
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
Required$75 — $75 application fee
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts of all undergraduate coursework
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other requirement
OptionalList of workshops/classes taken and awards/publications; publication not required
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Poetryup to 10 pages10 pages of poetryFormatting: typewritten, single sided, numbered lower right, Times New Roman 12-pointSource: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Fiction20–25 pages20-25 pages of fictionFormatting: typewritten, single sided, double spaced, numbered lower right, Times New Roman 12-pointSource: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Creative Nonfiction20–25 pages20-25 pages of creative nonfictionFormatting: typewritten, single sided, double spaced, numbered lower right, Times New Roman 12-pointSource: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Funding / priority deadline

    October 1 (recommended if seeking financial aid) · for Winter start (January)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    November 1 (final deadline) · for Winter start (January)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Funding / priority deadline

    April 1 (recommended if seeking financial aid) · for Summer start (June)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    May 1 (final deadline) · for Summer start (June)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All studentsPublished for low-residency study$12,714per semester · Winter 2027 – SummerSource: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other published fees

Housing & meals (double-occupancy room), per 6-month semester
$1,421 per semester
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Graduating residency
$998 per residencyMandatory
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
$75Mandatory
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial funding

International students
Accepted international students submit financial information to be considered for need-based college scholarships.
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Separate application
Applicants are considered for scholarships during application review; no separate application beyond the FAFSA.
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Need- and merit-based scholarships are offered directly through the programs.
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
80% of VCFA financial aid awards support demonstrated financial need; 20% are merit scholarships.
Source: vcfa.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. vcfa.edu/admissions/apply-mfa-in-writing/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  2. vcfa.edu/admissions/tuition-scholarships-financial-aid — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. vcfa.edu/news/explore-the-mfa-in-writing-residency-9a4928a6 — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. vcfa.edu/news/mfa-in-writing-program-study-options-7b7c0c91 — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  5. vcfa.edu/pay-for-your-mfa-cost-aid/financial-aid-and-scholarships/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 9, 2026
  6. vcfa.edu/sections/mfa-in-writing — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  7. vcfa.edu/the-learning-hub/southern-californias-newest-mfa-d4f269f8 — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  8. vcfa.edu/tuition-aid/tuition-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Location: Bennington, VT
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry · Literary Translation
Duration: Two years: four terms (five for dual-genre) and five residencies (six for dual-genre)
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $12,700 per term · All students — Per term, including residency room and board · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Screenwriting
Duration: Four semesters
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: $6,000 per semester · International — International, per semester · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
New York University logo

New York University

Low Residency MFA Writers Workshop in Paris

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: New York, NY
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with Vermont College of Fine Arts. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.