Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
School of the Art Institute of Chicago logo

School of the Art Institute of Chicago · Writing Department

Master of Fine Arts in Writing (MFAW)

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in WritingPartial funding

Overview

A two-year, 60-credit MFA built around one-on-one Graduate Projects with faculty advisors, plus workshops, cross-genre seminars, studio electives across SAIC, and a thesis in any genre.

Official program name
Master of Fine Arts in Writing (MFAW)
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Writing
Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Chicago, IL
Delivery / residency
Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified
Duration
Two years
Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
60 total credit hours
Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this degree is listed

MFA in Writing for writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and playwriting; admissions describe it as a creative writing MFA program.

Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

FictionCreative NonfictionPoetryPlaywritingCross-Genre / Interdisciplinary

Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other

  • Graduate Projects: one-on-one meetings with faculty advisors on independent projects, 6 credit hours each semester.
    Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Workshops

  • Workshops focused on process or on specific topics or literary themes.
    Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

  • Major creative project submitted in the final semester, with no restrictions on genre or content.
    Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Teaching opportunities

  • Students may apply for teaching assistantships in the Writing Program and across the School.
    Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Sally Alatalo — Professor
  • Mark Booth — Associate Professor
  • Sara Levine — Professor
  • Ruth Margraff — Professor
  • Jose Moctezuma — Assistant Professor
  • Anne Calcagno — Professor, Adjunct
  • Matthew Goulish — Professor, Adjunct
  • Nathan Hoks — Associate Professor, Adjunct

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredConferred four-year baccalaureate degree or equivalent
Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Statement of purpose
Required500- to 700-word artist's statement
Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of reference
Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026
CV / résumé
RequiredRésumé
Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Interview
OptionalInterviews by invitation only after preliminary review
Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
Required$90 — $90 application fee ($45 by the reduced-fee deadline of December 1)
Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts for review; official transcripts upon admission
Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026
English-test waiver
WaivedEnglish proficiency waived for native speakers or holders of a degree from a U.S.-accredited or English-medium university
Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredMFA Writing Reflection on creative influences and reading
Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Any / all genresup to 30 pagesNo more than 30 pages in a single PDF; any number of pieces in any genresFormatting: single PDFSource: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 85iBT 85 for tests before January 21, 2026; 4.5 for tests after; required only for applicants without a waiver. IELTS and Duolingo also accepted.
Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Other deadline

    December 1 (reduced application fee deadline, $45)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    January 10 (11:00 p.m. CST) · CST

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate (30 credit hours)Published for campus-based studyFrom the school's rate table for this level$61,980per academic year · 2026-2027Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026
All students — Graduate, per credit hourPublished for campus-based studyFrom the school's rate table for this level$2,066per credit · 2026-2027Calculated$123,960 total = 60 credits × $2,066 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, residency or travel costs, and any rate change during the program.Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial funding

Tuition coverage
Merit scholarships awarded to applicants of exceptional promise during admissions.
Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Assistantship duties
Students may apply for teaching assistantships.
Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Incentive awards, small project grants, and three fellowships for graduating MFAW students each year.
Source: saic.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Named scholarships, fellowships and assistantships

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. saic.edu/cost-financial-aid/cost-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 9, 2026
  2. saic.edu/writing/graduate/curriculum-courses — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. saic.edu/writing/graduate/mfa-writing-admissions-information — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. saic.edu/writing/graduate/overview — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  5. saic.edu/writing/people/faculty — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  6. saic.edu/writing/undergraduate/overview — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Northwestern University logo

Northwestern University

MFA in Prose and Poetry

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Prose and Poetry
Location: Evanston, ILSchool location; study is online.
Format: Fully onlineAll coursework is completed online and the school does not require in-person attendance. · Part-time
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $4,000 (basis not stated by the school) · All students — Per course · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Champaign, IL
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time
Genres: Fiction · Poetry
Duration: Three academic years
Funding: Fully funded (conditions apply)
Tuition: $14,908 per academic year · In-state — Graduate base, resident · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.