Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
Seton Hill University logo

Seton Hill University · Writing Popular Fiction Program (Office of Graduate and Online Studies)

Writing Popular Fiction (MFA)

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Writing Popular FictionPartial funding

Overview

A low-residency MFA in which students develop a novel-length project in a popular fiction genre through online work with mentors and faculty, plus six 5-day on-campus residencies in Greensburg, Pennsylvania (January and June). Students defend the thesis novel at the final residency. Tuition is $982 per credit for 2026-2027.

Official program name
Writing Popular Fiction (MFA)
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Writing Popular Fiction
Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Greensburg, PAWhere the program is administered. Most study happens remotely between residencies; residencies take place in Residencies take place on campus in Greensburg, Pennsylvania..
Delivery / residency
Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified
Duration
Not verified
Required credits
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
January, June
Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

MFA dedicated to writing novel-length fiction in popular genres; a creative writing degree with a fiction focus.

Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Residencies and remote study

Short, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Length of each residency
Each residency is 5 days long and always includes a weekend.
Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Frequency
Students attend 6 residencies, beginning and ending with one.
Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Residencies take place on campus in Greensburg, Pennsylvania.
Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Students begin at a January or June residency and defend the thesis novel at the final residency.
Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Between residencies
Between residencies, online contact with mentors, faculty and fellow writers.
Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

Fiction

Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

Other

  • One-on-one mentoring by published authors.
    Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026
  • A visiting professor each January works with undergraduate and graduate students.
    Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Teaching opportunities

  • Training in the teaching of writing as a potential career option.
    Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Michael Arnzen — Professor of English and Director of the Writing Popular Fiction Program
  • Nicole Peeler — Professor of English and Assistant Director of the Writing Popular Fiction Program
  • Maria V. Snyder — Adjunct Faculty
  • Scott Johnson — Adjunct Faculty
  • Priscilla Oliveras — Adjunct Faculty
  • William Horner — Adjunct Faculty
  • Valerie Burns — Adjunct Faculty
  • Kosoko Jackson — Visiting Professor
  • Rob Hart — Adjunct Faculty
  • Gwendolyn Kiste — Adjunct Faculty

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited institution with official transcripts
Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Personal statement
RequiredPersonal statement answering set questions, no more than a paragraph each
Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
Not requiredOnline application is free
Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts from any postbaccalaureate or graduate coursework
Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Fictionup to 10 pagesFiction writing sample of 10 double-spaced pages; first ten pages recommended if part of a longer workFormatting: double-spacedSource: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Nov 23 · for January 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    April 5 · for June

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Funding / priority deadline

    Before October 5th (up to $6,000 scholarship tier) · for January 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Writing Popular Fiction MFAPublished for low-residency studyFrom the school's rate table for this level$982per credit · 2026-2027Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other published fees

University Services Fee (1 to 11 credits)
$30 per creditMandatory
Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial fundingPolicy year: January 2027 start

Other
Merit scholarships awarded from the application file without a separate application.
Source: setonhill.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Named scholarships, fellowships and assistantships

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Location: Bennington, VT
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry · Literary Translation
Duration: Two years: four terms (five for dual-genre) and five residencies (six for dual-genre)
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $12,700 per term · All students — Per term, including residency room and board · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Screenwriting
Duration: Four semesters
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: $6,000 per semester · International — International, per semester · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
New York University logo

New York University

Low Residency MFA Writers Workshop in Paris

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: New York, NY
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with Seton Hill University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.