Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
Sarah Lawrence College logo

Sarah Lawrence College · MFA Writing Program

Master of Fine Arts in Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in WritingPartial funding

Overview

A 44-credit MFA completed full-time in two years or part-time in three or more. Students take four workshops, four craft-of-writing classes and four semesters of literary colloquium, meet bi-weekly one-on-one with workshop faculty, and complete a master's thesis.

Official program name
Master of Fine Arts in Writing
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Writing
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Bronxville, NY
Delivery / residency
Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Duration
Two years full-time; three years or more part-time
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
44 course credits
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Fall
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

The MFA in Writing is a dedicated creative writing degree with concentrations in fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction and speculative fiction.

Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

FictionPoetryCreative Nonfiction

Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Concentrations and tracks

Workshops

  • Four graduate writing workshops, one per semester (20 credits), usually with four different writers.
    Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Craft courses

Other

Readings and visiting writers

  • Weekly literary colloquium of talks by faculty, visiting writers and publishing professionals (6 credits over four semesters).
    Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

Teaching opportunities

  • Second-year students can apply for a pedagogy course and teaching assistantship in expository writing at SUNY Purchase; tutoring positions at Westchester Community College.
    Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Literary journal opportunities

Faculty listed by the program

  • Paige Ackerson-Kiely — Director, MFA Writing Program
  • Carolyn Ferrell — Ellen Kingsley Hirschfeld Chair in Writing
  • Darcie Dennigan
  • Myla Goldberg
  • Garth Risk Hallberg
  • Heather Harpham
  • Matthea Harvey
  • David Hollander
  • Victoria Redel
  • Nelly Reifler
  • R. A. Villanueva
  • Afaa Weaver

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor of Arts or equivalent degree from an accredited college or university.
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Minimum GPA
RecommendedPrevious college work is expected to be at 3.0 or higher.
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Personal statement
Required500-1000 words on yourself and what led you to pursue an MFA.
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Names of two recommenders.
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
CV / résumé
RequiredOne- to two-page curriculum vitae.
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
Required$60 — Nonrefundable $60 application fee.
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts uploaded with the application; official transcripts required only after admission.
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredApplicants are asked not to use generative AI in any part of the application.
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Fiction15–30 pages15-30 pages for fiction, creative nonfiction and speculative fiction applicants.Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Creative Nonfiction15–30 pages15-30 pages for fiction, creative nonfiction and speculative fiction applicants.Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Poetry10–15 pages10-15 pages of poetry.Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredFor non-native English speakers not educated in English for the past four years; TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo accepted.
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
IELTS Academic
RequiredAlternative to TOEFL for applicants who must show English proficiency.
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Duolingo English Test
RequiredAlternative to TOEFL for applicants who must show English proficiency.
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    January 15 · for Fall 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Full-time$38,716per academic year · 2026-2027Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Half-time (5-6 credits per semester)$21,118per academic year · 2026-2027Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other published fees

Health Services Fee (2026-27)
$362 per academic yearMandatory
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial funding

Tuition coverage
Merit-based scholarships and fellowships of $3,000 to $16,000 per year, renewed annually, considered during admissions.
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Separate application
Applicants who submit a FAFSA and/or financial documentation are considered for need-based institutional aid.
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
More than half of graduate students work on campus, including as assistants in the Writing Program and the Writing Center.
Source: sarahlawrence.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Named scholarships, fellowships and assistantships

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. sarahlawrence.edu/financial-aid/graduate/tuition.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 9, 2026
  2. sarahlawrence.edu/writing-mfa/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. sarahlawrence.edu/writing-mfa/application.html — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. sarahlawrence.edu/writing-mfa/faculty.html — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

CUNY Brooklyn College

Creative Writing, M.F.A.

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Playwriting
Duration: Two years (four semesters)
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: New York, NY
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry · Literary Translation
Duration: Two years of full-time coursework
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: January 6, 2027 · Fall 2027
View program
CUNY Hunter College logo

CUNY Hunter College

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts (MFA) in Creative Writing
Location: New York, NY
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry
Duration: Two years (four semesters)
Funding: Tuition only
Tuition: $0 per semester · In-state — Fiction and poetry (after tuition waiver)
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with Sarah Lawrence College. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.