Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms

Pratt Institute · Department of Writing, School of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Writing, MFA

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in WritingPartial funding

Overview

A two-year, 39-credit MFA with fall entry only, built around a weekly Writing Studio, faculty mentorship, Writing Practices and special topics seminars, and fieldwork residencies with outside organizations. The program ends with a final manuscript, performance, or collaborative event.

Official program name
Writing, MFA
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Writing
Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Delivery / residency
Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Duration
2 years (four semesters)
Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
39 credits
Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Fall
Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

MFA in Writing in which students produce imaginative and experimental literary work (poetry, prose, hybrid forms) toward a final manuscript; a dedicated creative writing degree.

Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

PoetryCross-Genre / Interdisciplinary

Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Workshops

  • The Writing Studio is a weekly interdisciplinary critique forum for all students, faculty, and guest faculty.
    Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Internships

  • Fieldwork residencies with a literary institution, community organization, archive, or activist group.
    Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

  • Mentored Studies with a faculty mentor support the thesis project; the program aims at a final manuscript, performance, or collaborative event.
    Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Literary journal opportunities

  • A self-selecting group of students edits, designs, and publishes chapbooks each year.
    Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Literature courses

  • Special Topics seminars in literature, media studies, performance, translation, small press, and experimental writing traditions.
    Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Christian Hawkey — Professor
  • Sharifa Rhodes-Pitts — Associate Professor
  • Laura Elrick — Associate Professor
  • James Hannaham — Professor
  • Youmna Chlala — Professor
  • Mirene Arsanios — Adjunct Assistant Professor
  • Rachel Levitsky — Professor
  • Ellery Washington — Associate Professor
  • Hannah Assadi — Adjunct Assistant Professor
  • Claire Donato — Assistant Chairperson; Adjunct Associate Professor
  • Benjamin Krusling — Visiting Assistant Professor
  • Samantha Hunt — Professor

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited institution or international equivalent.
Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Statement of purpose
RequiredStatement of purpose of no more than 500 words on how the applicant's writing interests align with the program.
Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation.
Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredTranscripts from all postsecondary institutions.
Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Any / all genres10–20 pagesWriting portfolio of about 10-20 pages: a single complete work, excerpts from a longer work, multiple shorter works, or another combination; literary artwork on or off the page is also welcome.Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Funding / priority deadline

    January 5th - Fall 2027 priority deadline for scholarship and admission · for Fall 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    February 5th - second round fall deadline (later rounds March 5th and April 5th, as programs remain open) · for Fall 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate tuition (all graduate programs except School of Information)From the school's rate table for this level$2,310per credit · 2026-2027Calculated$90,090 total = 39 credits × $2,310 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, residency or travel costs, and any rate change during the program.Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other published fees

Academic facilities fee, full-time
$350 per semesterMandatory
Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial funding

Other
The program states it funds students equally and asks applicants to contact it for details.
Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Students can receive Graduate Student Engagement Fund (GSEF) support for individual research projects.
Source: pratt.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. pratt.edu/admissions/graduate-admissions/apply/application-requirements/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  2. pratt.edu/admissions/graduate-admissions/apply/application-requirements/departmental-requirements/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. pratt.edu/liberal-arts-and-sciences/writing/contact/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. pratt.edu/liberal-arts-and-sciences/writing/writing-mfa/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  5. pratt.edu/resources/2026-2027-graduate-tuition-and-fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

CUNY Brooklyn College

Creative Writing, M.F.A.

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry · Playwriting
Duration: Two years (four semesters)
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: New York, NY
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry · Literary Translation
Duration: Two years of full-time coursework
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: January 6, 2027 · Fall 2027
View program
CUNY Hunter College logo

CUNY Hunter College

MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts (MFA) in Creative Writing
Location: New York, NY
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry
Duration: Two years (four semesters)
Funding: Tuition only
Tuition: $0 per semester · In-state — Fiction and poetry (after tuition waiver)
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with Pratt Institute. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.