Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
Pacific University logo

Pacific University · Master of Fine Arts in Writing Program, Pacific University

Master of Fine Arts in Writing (MFA)

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in WritingPartial fundingEditorial selection: Best Low-Residency MFA Creative Writing Programs

Overview

A two-year, 68-credit low-residency MFA requiring four semesters of guided study and five ten-day residencies, held each January in Seaside on the Oregon Coast and each June on the Forest Grove campus. During the semester students send work to a faculty advisor about every three weeks and devote 20-25 hours per week to study.

Official program name
Master of Fine Arts in Writing (MFA)
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Writing
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Forest Grove, ORWhere the program is administered. Most study happens remotely between residencies; residencies take place in January residency in Seaside on the Oregon Coast..
Delivery / residency
Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified
Duration
Two years: at least four semesters of study and five residencies
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
68 credits
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
January, June
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

MFA in Writing in which students major in poetry, fiction or creative nonfiction and complete a creative thesis manuscript.

Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Residencies and remote study

Short, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Frequency
Ten-day residencies twice a year in the Pacific Northwest.
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Attendance
Students must be present for a 10-day residency at the beginning of each semester.
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
January residency in Seaside on the Oregon Coast.
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
June residency on the Pacific University Forest Grove campus.
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
The Spring 2027 semester begins with a residency January 7-17, 2027, in Seaside, Oregon.
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Accommodation
In Seaside students and faculty stay in private rooms at the Best Western Ocean View Resort; lunches and two buffet dinners are included.
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Accommodation
In June students share on-campus suites with private bedrooms and shared kitchens.
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Travel
Seaside is a two-and-a-half-hour drive from Portland Airport.
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Residency fee
Residency fees $2,600 per academic year ($1,300 per semester), 2026-2027.
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Residency fee
Fifth/thesis residency: $2,941 plus the $1,300 residency fee.
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Between residencies
Guided study workload of 20-25 hours per week.
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Between residencies
Five exchanges (packets) with the advisor per semester, about one every three weeks.
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

PoetryFictionCreative Nonfiction

Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Workshops

  • Residency workshops with pre-residency worksheets (four poems or up to 4,000 words of prose) for faculty and peer review.
    Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Literature courses

  • Students read about 80 works of literature, with commentaries and annotated bibliographies, and write an analytical paper.
    Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

  • Thesis manuscript of fiction, nonfiction or poetry, with a thesis review and public presentation at the fifth residency.
    Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Teaching opportunities

  • Graduates are encouraged to apply to teach undergraduates on the Forest Grove campus.
    Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Scott Korb — Director, Master of Fine Arts in Writing
  • Chris Abani
  • Ellen Bass — poetry
  • Sanjiv Bhattacharya — creative_nonfiction
  • Leila Chatti — poetry
  • Claire Davis — fiction
  • Kwame Dawes — poetry
  • Omar El Akkad
  • W. Ralph Eubanks — creative_nonfiction
  • Pete Fromm — fiction
  • Dorianne Laux — poetry
  • Kimberly King Parsons — fiction

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university (or close to completing it)
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Personal statement
RequiredPersonal essay, maximum three pages
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of reference on the program's reference form
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
Required$50 — $50 for one genre; $75 for two genres (non-refundable)
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts sent directly to the MFA office
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Critical / academic writing sample
RequiredCritical analysis of a published work, maximum three pages
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
International applicants
Not verifiedInternational students are welcome; they attend each 10-day residency and complete guided study from home.
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Poetryup to 10 pages10 pages of poetry, no more than one poem per pageFormatting: Times 12 point, single-spaced, one poem per page, page numbers and nameSource: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Fictionup to 4000 wordsFiction up to 4,000 wordsFormatting: double-spaced, Times 12 pointSource: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Creative Nonfictionup to 4000 wordsNonfiction up to 4,000 wordsFormatting: double-spaced, Times 12 pointSource: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Funding / priority deadline

    September 1 (priority; admissions and scholarships begin) · for January start (Spring 2027)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    November 15, as space allows · for January start (Spring 2027)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Funding / priority deadline

    March 1 (priority) · for June start

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    May 15, as space allows · for June start

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All studentsPublished for low-residency study$23,528per academic year · 2026-2027Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other published fees

Residency fee
$1,300 per semesterMandatory
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Student Service Fee
$210 per semesterMandatory
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Fifth/thesis residency (plus $1,300 residency fee)
$2,941 per residencyMandatory
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial fundingPolicy year: 2026-2027

Separate application
No additional scholarship application except for the Robert Kelleher scholarship essay.
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Partial scholarships are offered each year to selected entering students, based on the creative manuscript and application, awarded at acceptance.
Source: pacificu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Named scholarships, fellowships and assistantships

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. pacificu.edu/admissions/financial-aid-scholarships/scholarships/mfa-writing-scholarships — Official funding / aid page, verified October 9, 2026
  2. pacificu.edu/mfa-writing — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. pacificu.edu/mfa-writing/admissions — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. pacificu.edu/mfa-writing/curriculum — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  5. pacificu.edu/mfa-writing/curriculum/writing-residencies — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  6. pacificu.edu/mfa-writing/tuition-financial-aid — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Location: Bennington, VT
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry · Literary Translation
Duration: Two years: four terms (five for dual-genre) and five residencies (six for dual-genre)
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $12,700 per term · All students — Per term, including residency room and board · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Screenwriting
Duration: Four semesters
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: $6,000 per semester · International — International, per semester · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
New York University logo

New York University

Low Residency MFA Writers Workshop in Paris

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: New York, NY
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with Pacific University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.