Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
Warren Wilson College logo

Warren Wilson College · The MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College

MFA Program for Writers

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative WritingPartial fundingEditorial selection: Best Low-Residency MFA Creative Writing Programs

Overview

A four-semester low-residency MFA with ten-day residencies each January and July and five-month nonresident semesters of individual work with a faculty supervisor. Tracks are offered in poetry, fiction and creative nonfiction; the degree requires 60 graduate hours, an analytical essay, a thesis manuscript and a one-hour class taught during residency.

Official program name
MFA Program for Writers
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Swannanoa, NCWhere the program is administered. Most study happens remotely between residencies; residencies take place in Summer residencies are held at Warren Wilson College; winter residencies at Blue Ridge Assembly, about 9 miles from campus..
Delivery / residency
Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Source: warren-wilson.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified
Duration
Four semesters and five residencies
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
Minimum of 60 graduate hours (four semester projects)
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
January, July
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing.

Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Residencies and remote study

Short, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Frequency
Ten-day residencies twice a year, in early January and early July, attended by all faculty and students.
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Attendance
Each student attends the residency as a prerequisite to the semester's study.
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Summer residencies are held at Warren Wilson College; winter residencies at Blue Ridge Assembly, about 9 miles from campus.
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Other
The degree requires four semesters of tuition and five residencies; the final residency is the graduation residency.
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Residency fee
Residency fees are $1,250.
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Accommodation
The residency fee covers a single-occupancy private room, board and facilities use while on campus.
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Accommodation
In January at Blue Ridge Assembly, rooms with a private bath cost an additional $200.
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Travel
Variable expenses include travel to and from Asheville twice a year, books and possibly postage.
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Between residencies
During the nonresident semester the faculty supervisor receives work every three weeks and responds within three days.
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Between residencies
After the residency, instruction is between faculty advisor and student, primarily by email; the program has no online classes or workshops.
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Between residencies
Ten-day residencies initiate a five-month nonresident period of the semester.
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

PoetryFictionCreative Nonfiction

Source: warren-wilson.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Workshops

  • Residency workshops of 8-10 students mix students from every stage of the program; faculty rotate among groups in pairs.
    Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026

Other

Thesis / dissertation

  • Thesis manuscript of poetry (30-50 pages) or fiction (70-100 pages), assessed in a one-hour thesis interview.
    Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026

Teaching opportunities

Faculty listed by the program

  • Rita Banerjee — Director, MFA Program for Writers
  • Kirstin Chen
  • Camille Acker
  • Dilruba Ahmed
  • Kaveh Akbar
  • Deepa Anappara
  • Lesley Nneka Arimah
  • Mia Alvar
  • Dean Bakopoulos
  • Natalie Bakopoulos
  • Sally Ball

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: warren-wilson.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Personal statement
RequiredPersonal essay, 3-4 pages, double-spaced
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation; a third letter is optional
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
Required$75 — $75, or $110 if applying in two genres; paid via Submittable
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredTranscripts from each college attended; unofficial accepted at application, official required on acceptance
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Critical / academic writing sample
RequiredCritical analysis of an aspect of craft, 3-4 pages, double-spaced (one per genre if applying in two genres)
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Poetryup to 10 pagesPoetry: 10 pages maximum, no more than one poem per pageFormatting: Word or PDFSource: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Fictionup to 25 pagesFiction: 25 pages maximumFormatting: double-spaced; Word or PDFSource: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Creative Nonfictionup to 25 pagesCreative nonfiction: 25 pages maximumFormatting: double-spaced; Word or PDFSource: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    March 1 · for July residency

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    September 1 · for January residency

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Funding / priority deadline

    FAFSA by August 10 (fall cycle) or February 10 (spring cycle) · for Fall / Spring admissions cycles

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All studentsPublished for low-residency study$10,324per semesterSource: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026

Other published fees

Residency fee (private room, board, facilities use)
$1,250 per residencyMandatory
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Private bath at Blue Ridge Assembly (January residencies)
$200 per residency
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial funding

Tuition coverage
All students who demonstrate need via the FAFSA receive an MFA grant that reduces tuition.
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Assistantship duties
The program does not offer teaching assistantships.
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Renewal conditions
MFA grants are renewable for up to four semesters while the student continues to qualify.
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
International students
International students are eligible for need-based scholarships and grants if they file a FAFSA and qualify.
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026
Separate application
Admission is need-blind; the FAFSA serves as the application for most grants and scholarships.
Source: warrenwilsonmfa.org · verified October 9, 2026

Named scholarships, fellowships and assistantships

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. warren-wilson.edu/programs/mfa-in-creative-writing/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  2. warrenwilsonmfa.org/academics/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. warrenwilsonmfa.org/application-requirements/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. warrenwilsonmfa.org/degree-requirements-2/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  5. warrenwilsonmfa.org/faculty/all-active-faculty/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  6. warrenwilsonmfa.org/faqs-2/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  7. warrenwilsonmfa.org/financial-aid-and-scholarships/ — Official funding / aid page, verified October 9, 2026
  8. warrenwilsonmfa.org/residency/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  9. warrenwilsonmfa.org/tuition-fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Location: Bennington, VT
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry · Literary Translation
Duration: Two years: four terms (five for dual-genre) and five residencies (six for dual-genre)
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $12,700 per term · All students — Per term, including residency room and board · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Screenwriting
Duration: Four semesters
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: $6,000 per semester · International — International, per semester · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
New York University logo

New York University

Low Residency MFA Writers Workshop in Paris

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: New York, NY
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with Warren Wilson College. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.