
Spalding University · Sena Jeter Naslund-Karen Mann Graduate School of Writing
Master of Fine Arts in Writing
Overview
A 65-credit low-residency MFA in four semesters plus a graduation residency. Each semester opens with a weeklong residency in Louisville (spring and fall) or a virtual residency (summer), followed by mentored independent study with five packets; students choose a six-month (about 25 hours a week) or extended (about 12 hours a week) semester schedule.
- Official program name
- Master of Fine Arts in Writing
- Awarded degree
- Master of Fine Arts in WritingSource: catalog.spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- School
- Source: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Location
- Louisville, KYWhere the program is administered. Most study happens remotely between residencies; residencies take place in Spring and fall residencies take place in Louisville; students may opt to stay at the Brown Hotel..
- Delivery / residency
- Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.Source: catalog.spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Study intensity
- Flexible paceSource: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Duration
- Two years on the standard schedule; four years on the extended schedule (four semesters plus a graduation residency)Source: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Required credits
- Not verified
- Teaching language
- English (not separately stated)
- Start
- Spring, Summer, FallSource: catalog.spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed
The MFA in Writing emphasizes the practice of creative writing, with concentrations in fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, writing for children and young adults, and writing for TV, screen and stage, and requires a creative thesis.
Source: catalog.spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules
Residencies and remote study
- Location
- Spring and fall residencies take place in Louisville; students may opt to stay at the Brown Hotel.Source: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Travel
- Tuition is the same for in-person and virtual residencies; virtual residencies save travel time and costs.Source: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Attendance
- The degree requires five residency courses and four independent study courses.Source: catalog.spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Between residencies
- Five packets per independent study (creative writing, cover letter with craft questions, short essays on the reading list); the mentor responds within a week.Source: catalog.spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Between residencies
- Standard six-month schedule: two semesters a year, about 25 hours a week of independent study.Source: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Between residencies
- Extended schedule: one semester a year beginning with the May on-campus or June virtual residency, about 12 hours a week.Source: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Curriculum, genres and faculty
Genres
FictionPoetryCreative NonfictionScreenwritingPlaywriting
Source: catalog.spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026Thesis / dissertation
- Third-semester research project of at least 20 pages and fourth-semester creative thesis; graduation reading (20 minutes) and lecture (30 minutes).Source: catalog.spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
- Published or produced writers may apply to accelerate and finish in three semesters plus the graduation residency.Source: catalog.spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Grading is a discursive evaluation report (Credit Awarded / Not Awarded).Source: catalog.spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Faculty listed by the program
- Kathleen Driskell — Chair, Professor of Creative Writing, poetry
- Karen Mann — Administrative Director
- Whitney Collins — Assistant Professor of Creative Writing, Associate Programs Director
As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.
Source: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026Admissions
- Prior degree
- RequiredBachelor's degreeSource: catalog.spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Personal statement
- RequiredTwo personal essays: a commentary and a personal statementSource: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Recommendation letters
- Not requiredNo letters of recommendationSource: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Application fee
- Required$30 — $30 application feeSource: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Transcripts
- RequiredOfficial transcripts from every college attendedSource: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- International applicants
- Not verifiedInternational students welcome; contact the school about additional requirementsSource: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Writing portfolio
| Genre | Length | Requirement as published |
|---|---|---|
| Any / all genres | — | Writing sample in one area (fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, writing for children and young adults, or writing for TV, screen and stage), read blind by a faculty committee; page limits not stated on the pages fetchedSource: catalog.spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026 |
Tests
- GRE General Test
- Not requiredSource: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.
Deadlines
- Rolling
Application deadline
Rolling admission · for All terms
The school does not print a year with this date.
Source: catalog.spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026 - Year not printed
Funding / priority deadline
Scholarship requests: April 1 (spring or summer semester), October 1 (fall semester) · for Spring/summer and fall semesters
The school does not print a year with this date.
Source: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| All students — Graduate, Writing (MFA)From the school's rate table for this level | $650 | per credit · 2026-2027Source: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026 |
Funding
Partial funding
- Tuition coverage
- Assistantships provide tuition remission of about $600-$1,800 per semester.Source: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Assistantship duties
- Assistantship work: social media team, School of Writing staff support, or student editor of the literary magazine; most can be done from home.Source: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
- Separate application
- Newly accepted students request scholarships by email to the Chair (subject 'Scholarship Request').Source: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Named scholarships, fellowships and assistantships
Alumni Select scholarship
$2,000
Eligibility: Incoming students referred by alumni
How to apply: Email request to the Chair
Source: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026Faculty Select scholarship
$2,000
Eligibility: Incoming students referred by faculty
How to apply: Email request to the Chair
Source: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026Appalachian Writer scholarship
$2,000
Eligibility: Incoming students from Appalachia
How to apply: Email request to the Chair
Source: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026Kentucky Teachers Scholarship scholarship
$1,000-$1,500
Eligibility: Kentucky teachers of any subject and level, K through university
How to apply: Email request to the Chair
Source: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026Sena Jeter Naslund – Karen Mann Endowed Scholarship scholarship
Eligibility: Incoming MFA students, based on need
How to apply: Email request to the Chair
Source: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026Mann-Driskell Scholarship scholarship
$500 (up to two per year) · Awards: 2
Eligibility: Current female students working in long-form fiction
Source: spalding.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Sources and verification
- catalog.spalding.edu/?id=549 — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 9, 2026
- spalding.edu/academics/college-of-social-sciences-and-humanities/naslund-mann-school-of-writing/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
- spalding.edu/academics/college-of-social-sciences-and-humanities/naslund-mann-school-of-writing/resi — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
- spalding.edu/academics/college-of-social-sciences-and-humanities/naslund-mann-school-of-writing/writ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
- spalding.edu/financial-aid/cost-of-attendance/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 9, 2026
- spalding.edu/financial-aid/scholarships/ — Official funding / aid page, verified October 9, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
Similar programs
Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Low Residency MFA Writers Workshop in Paris
Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with Spalding University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.