Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
Pacific Lutheran University logo

Pacific Lutheran University · Rainier Writing Workshop (College of Liberal Studies)

Rainier Writing Workshop: Low-Residency MFA in Creative Writing

MFAMaster of Fine Arts (MFA) in Creative WritingPartial fundingEditorial selection: Best Low-Residency MFA Creative Writing Programs

Overview

A three-year low-residency MFA in poetry, fiction and nonfiction (44 credits) combining year-long one-on-one mentorships, an Outside Experience project, a 20-40-page critical paper and a creative thesis with four mandatory 10-day July residencies on the PLU campus. A two-year Advanced Standing track (36 credits) is available to applicants with a master's in English or creative writing. The 2026-27 program cost is $46,010, including residency room and meals.

Official program name
Rainier Writing Workshop: Low-Residency MFA in Creative Writing
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts (MFA) in Creative Writing
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Tacoma, WAWhere the program is administered. Most study happens remotely between residencies.
Delivery / residency
Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified
Duration
Three years (Regular Standing); two years (Advanced Standing)
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
Regular Standing 44 credits; Advanced Standing 36 credits
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Summer
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

Awarded degree is an MFA in Creative Writing.

Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Residencies and remote study

Short, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Frequency
Each academic cycle begins June 1 and culminates in a 10-day residency on campus each July.
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Attendance
The annual residency is mandatory.
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Accommodation
All participants stay in on-campus dormitory housing in private rooms with shared bathrooms; no opt-out.
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Residency fee
Program cost includes accommodation and meals for the four 10-day residencies.
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Travel
Travel expenses are not included.
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Between residencies
Participants commit at least 15 hours per week and submit 5 to 7 packets to their mentor each year.
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Residency days run 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM with mandatory morning workshops and elective craft classes.
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

PoetryFictionCreative Nonfiction

Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Concentrations and tracks

Thesis / dissertation

  • Creative thesis of 30-60 pages for poetry or 60-120 pages for prose, plus a 20-40-page critical paper.
    Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other

  • Self-directed, credit-bearing Outside Experience project in the second year.
    Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
  • Three year-long individualized mentorships with different faculty members.
    Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Workshops

  • Residency morning workshops in the primary genre followed by mixed-genre workshops.
    Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

Faculty list: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Personal statement
RequiredTwo-page personal statement on writing background and goals
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Optional2 letters — Up to two recommendations, optional
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
CV / résumé
RequiredSimple resume or CV (system requirement; writing experience not required)
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Application fee
Required$65 — $65, waived for PLU alumni and current students
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcript of highest degree requested upon notification of pending acceptance
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Critical / academic writing sample
Required500-word literary critique
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Poetryup to 15 pages15 pages of poetryFormatting: Poetry may be single-spaced; 10 or 12 point font, numbered pages, name top rightSource: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Any / all genres30–40 pages30-40 pages of prose, or a genre mix not to exceed 40 pagesFormatting: Prose double-spaced; 10 or 12 point font, numbered pages, name top rightSource: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Other deadline

    December 1 (Early Action Date) · for Summer 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Summer 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — 2026-27 Program Cost (tuition for 44 credits plus residency accommodation and meals)Published for low-residency study$46,010entire program · 2026-2027Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Other published fees

Technology fee
$290 per academic yearMandatory
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Wellness fee
$120 per academic yearMandatory
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
One-time matriculation fee
$225 entire programMandatory
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial fundingPolicy year: 2026-2027

Other
Tuition is locked in for six consecutively enrolled semesters.
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
Deborah Tall Scholarship Fund occasionally provides partial funding for Outside Experience costs.
Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Named scholarships, fellowships and assistantships

  • PLU Alumni Scholarship scholarship

    $5,000 (one-time) · Not renewable

    Eligibility: Graduate students who earned their bachelor's degree from PLU

    How to apply: Automatically awarded in the first term

    Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026
  • Graduate Academic Scholarships scholarship

    $1,000-$4,000 (one-time) · Not renewable

    Eligibility: Applicants who are not PLU alumni

    How to apply: Automatic consideration; applied to the first term

    Source: plu.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.
  1. plu.edu/mfa/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  2. plu.edu/mfa/admission-application-requirements/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026
  3. plu.edu/mfa/financial-aid/ — Official funding / aid page, verified October 9, 2026
  4. plu.edu/mfa/program-details/ — Official program page, verified October 9, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Location: Bennington, VT
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry · Literary Translation
Duration: Two years: four terms (five for dual-genre) and five residencies (six for dual-genre)
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $12,700 per term · All students — Per term, including residency room and board · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Screenwriting
Duration: Four semesters
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: $6,000 per semester · International — International, per semester · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
New York University logo

New York University

Low Residency MFA Writers Workshop in Paris

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Location: New York, NY
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them.
Genres: Poetry · Fiction · Creative Nonfiction
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with Pacific Lutheran University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.