Skip to content
Creative WritingPrograms
University of North Carolina Wilmington logo

University of North Carolina Wilmington · Department of Creative Writing

Creative Writing, MFA

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Creative WritingPartial funding

Overview

A full-time, residency-based 48-hour MFA usually completed in three years, with 21 hours of writing workshops, 21 hours of electives, and 6 thesis hours leading to a book-length manuscript. Students apply in poetry, fiction, or creative nonfiction, some cross-genre study is required, and an environmental writing concentration is offered.

Official program name
Creative Writing, MFA
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
School
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Location
Wilmington, NC
Delivery / residency
Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Duration
Generally three years (6 semesters); must be completed within five years
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Required credits
48 hours
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Start
Fall
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Why this degree is listed

Dedicated MFA in Creative Writing offered by the Department of Creative Writing.

Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We list dedicated creative writing degrees only. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, genres and faculty

Genres

PoetryFictionCreative Nonfiction

Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Concentrations and tracks

Workshops

  • 21 hours of writing workshops (e.g., CRW 542 Poetry Writing Workshop, CRW 544 Fiction Writing Workshop, CRW 550 Creative Nonfiction Workshop).
    Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Thesis / dissertation

  • 6 thesis hours leading to completion and defense of a book-length manuscript.
    Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Teaching opportunities

  • Teaching assistantships and pedagogical training; CRW 503 Creative Writing Pedagogy.
    Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Literary journal opportunities

  • Experience in magazine and book production with Lookout Books, Ecotone, and Chautauqua.
    Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Craft courses

  • Publishing coursework such as CRW 523 Bookbuilding and CRW 525 The Publishing Process.
    Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Melissa Crowe — Department Chair & Professor, poetry
  • Chad Abushanab — Assistant Professor, poetry
  • Sayantani Dasgupta — Associate Professor, creative_nonfiction
  • Nina de Gramont — Professor, fiction
  • Sarah Domet — MFA Coordinator, Assistant Professor, fiction
  • David Gessner — Editor-in-Chief: Ecotone; Professor, creative_nonfiction
  • Nathan Gower — Assistant Professor, fiction
  • Rebecca Lee — Associate Professor, fiction
  • Malena Mörling — Professor, poetry
  • Jason Mott — Associate Professor, fiction
  • Michael Ramos — Art Director: Ecotone; Assistant Professor, creative_nonfiction
  • Emily Louise Smith — Director: The Publishing Laboratory; Associate Professor

As listed on the program's official page on October 9, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Personal statement
RequiredEssay (300-500 words) on goals in pursuing the MFA, including previous educational experience
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Recommendation letters
Not requiredLetters of recommendation are not required, nor accepted
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
CV / résumé
OptionalUploading a resume is optional
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Interview
Not requiredNo foreign language requirement or interview process
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOne official transcript from each U.S. post-secondary institution attended
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other requirement
OptionalOptional one- to two-page assistantship statement for Creative Writing classroom or Publishing Laboratory assistantships
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Writing portfolio

GenreLengthRequirement as published
Poetryup to 10 pages10 pages of poetryFormatting: single-spaced poetrySource: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Fictionup to 30 pages30 pages of fictionFormatting: double-spaced proseSource: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Creative Nonfictionup to 30 pages30 pages of creative nonfictionFormatting: double-spaced proseSource: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness: programs rarely publish comparable figures.

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the admissions cycle the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    January 15, 2027 · for Fall 2027 · America/New_York

    Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — Graduate, main campus, residents of NC, 9+ credit hours (Fall/Spring term, tuition only)Published for campus-based studyFrom the school's rate table for this level$2,881.50per term · 2026-2027Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Out-of-state — Graduate, main campus, non-residents of NC, 9+ credit hours (Fall/Spring term, tuition only)Published for campus-based studyFrom the school's rate table for this level$11,662.50per term · 2026-2027Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial funding

Published stipend: $19,000 (annual ($1,900 per month, pre-tax, August-May))

Funding guarantee
About 55-65% of students receive substantial funding in some form.
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Tuition coverage
Teaching assistants pay their own tuition in years two and three; U.S. citizens may apply for in-state residency after the first year.
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Stipend
Eight to ten assistantships per incoming class, each with an annual stipend of $19,000 and full tuition coverage for the first year.
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Assistantship duties
Graduate assistants teach creative writing, publishing and editing, occasional online courses, or work on Ecotone and Chautauqua.
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Separate application
All applicants are automatically considered for teaching assistantships and scholarships, awarded competitively.
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
Other
One fully funded GTAship in each genre covers tuition and fees in all three years.
Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026

We do not judge whether a stipend is sufficient: living costs differ by city, household and year.

Named scholarships, fellowships and assistantships

  • Kert Green Fellowship fellowship

    Generally $10,000-12,000; includes a full tuition waiver the first year and an additional $2,000 for part-time departmental work · Awards: 1

    Eligibility: An incoming student, based on portfolio, letters of reference, and undergraduate GPA

    How to apply: Automatic consideration

    Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
  • Philip Gerard Graduate Fellowship fellowship

    Generally $5,000-6,000 · Awards: 1

    Eligibility: Highest-ranked incoming nonfiction applicant

    How to apply: Automatic consideration

    Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
  • Robert H. Byington Leadership Fellowship fellowship

    $2,000 at the start of the thesis year · Awards: 1

    Eligibility: An MFA student entering the thesis year, by faculty and student nomination and faculty vote

    How to apply: Nomination

    Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
  • Shannon Morton Fellowship fellowship

    Generally $2,000-3,000

    Eligibility: MFA student entering the second year with GPA of at least 3.2, by faculty nomination

    How to apply: Faculty nomination

    Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026
  • Linda and Charles Nance Fellowship fellowship

    $1,000 ($500 each in fall and spring of the first year) · Awards: 1

    Eligibility: An incoming student

    How to apply: Automatic consideration

    Source: uncw.edu · verified October 9, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 9, 2026.

Similar programs

Same degree level, nearby or in the same format. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Location: Raleigh, NC
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program.
Genres: Fiction · Poetry
Duration: Two years
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Charlotte, NC
Format: Low-residencyShort, mandatory in-person residencies (often once or twice a year) combined with remote mentored study between them. · Flexible pace
Genres: Fiction · Creative Nonfiction · Poetry · Playwriting · Screenwriting
Duration: 2 years, with options to accelerate or lengthen (up to six years)
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: $856 per credit · All students · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: Greensboro, NC
Format: Campus-basedClasses and workshops meet in person on campus throughout the program. · Full-time
Genres: Poetry · Fiction
Duration: Two years
Funding: Competitive full funding
Tuition: $8,845 per academic year · In-state — Graduate, annual tuition and fees (Spartan Central at-a-glance table)
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Creative Writing Programs is independent and not affiliated with University of North Carolina Wilmington. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.